We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Creep Factor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ghostly Walks Walking Tours

Ghostly Walks Walking Tours
812 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
250.384.6698
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Behind Victoria's old-world charm lie tales of eccentric characters, heroic deeds, intrigue, love, hangings, murder and GHOSTS!Ghostly Walks tours are scheduled year-round, they last 90 minutes and take place rain or shine.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Creep Factor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This was so much fun! Our tour leader was an amazing story teller who kept us on the edge for about 2 hours walking through the downtown area and seeing the most haunted spaces in Victoria. Highly recommend this!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Manager at Ghostly Walks Walking Tours, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Hi DarcyL

Thanks for the review and thanks for coming walking with us, happy to hear that you enjoyed the stories. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    51
    13
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My wife and I were urged to go on this tour by the visitors center, who told us this tour was more historical than hookey. Well, they had it completely backwards. The tour started off with rubbing our hands together in order to feel some sort of ghoulish energy from "the most haunted city in canada". We then walked to the Empress Hotel where he told us when it was built, and then proceeded with a 15 minute storg aboit a death and how the person haunts some elevators or something. These were typical 12 year old campsite ghost telling, that were not scary or entertaining. The worst experience on a tour that I have ever had. We left after the third stop of awfulness. We saw other tours that were taking place at the same time. Shame on the visitor center for really pushing this as a premier historical tour, while failing to mention any of the other tours we saw taking place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Manager at Ghostly Walks Walking Tours, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your walk with us.

Ghost tours like ours are certainly not for everyone and it sounds like you might have had more fun on one of of our other non-ghostly history tours.

We run our Chinatown Walks and our Discovery Walks year round and both of these tours focus on the history, culture, architecture and people that make Victoria such an interesting place (without talking about ghosts). You can find our full schedule of history tours on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Spooky-ish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

It is a great experience. I did not however leave believing in ghosts any more than I did at the start of the tour. However, it is a nice walking tour and a great way to learn some of Victoria's spookier history. Very good experience, I have been twice.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Manager at Ghostly Walks Walking Tours, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hi Sara D,

Thanks for coming on another tour. We understand that not everyone believes or will believe in ghosts, so we appreciate that you came back for more and enjoyed the stories. Hope to see you again soon. From May 1st until the middle of September, we run Ghostly Walks tours every night and offer many different routes to choose from - there are lots more great stories to hear. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

My wife and I try to do this type of tour in every city we visit. John Adams did not disappoint. He's a great storyteller and a pleasant tour guide. It was a fun, informative and leisurely evening.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Manager at Ghostly Walks Walking Tours, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hi Dale T,
Thanks for your review and thank you for walking with us. We love collecting and telling the stories of Victoria's dark past and meeting great folks like you, so thanks for sharing your feedback. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great Ghost tour: fun and engaging. We went with our family and it brought chills down our spine for everyone.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Manager at Ghostly Walks Walking Tours, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi Francesca W,
Thanks for your review. Glad to have you and your family along. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghostly Walks Walking Tours also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Ghostly Walks Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghostly Walks Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.