We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the pizza; pass on the panna cotta” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Prima Strada

Pizzeria Prima Strada
230 Cook Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3X3, Canada
250-590-8595
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 1,083 Restaurants in Victoria
Price range: $14 - $48
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Vancouver
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Go for the pizza; pass on the panna cotta”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I love Neapolitan style pizza so I was happy to read about this place before a trip to Victoria. We went to the Cook St location, which is busy with lots of families - a nice vibe. We had a lovely arugula salad and tender meatballs to start. My hubby's Margarita pizza was delish. I had the sausage and it was meh - the interior crust was soggy. I had been looking forward to the panna cotta for dessert. I love panna cotta. This was not panna cotta - it was a chocolate mousse which was pretty disappointing especially at $7 a pop. Service was attentive without being overbearing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    67
    17
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We are regulars and have never been disappointed! Tried just about everything on the menu, really you can't go wrong with anything. We now order the special pizza when we go in, fun to try and always delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Excellent Food: Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Pizzeria Prima Strada in Cook Street Village is just a few blocks from my home and I find it a wonderful place to drop in for dinner or just a glass of wine and a plate of antipasti. The pizzas are cooked in a wood fired oven right behind the bar and preparation area (it's great just to watch the cooks in action) and are made almost entirely from local produce. The desserts are wonderful (last night's special was panna cotta with salted caramel topping - to die for). The staff are friendly and helpful. On a sunny day or evening, you can eat outside while watching the passers by. It's small though, and very popular, so you may have to wait in line, especially on weekend evenings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We visited Pizzeria Prima Strada on Cook Street last Saturday night. What a fabulous meal - honestly the best Neapolitan-style pizza I have ever had. The crust was just perfect. Delicious Tiramisu and a top-notch cappucino rounded out the meal for us. Our waitress was sharp-as-a-tack and very efficient. We had an (understandable) one hour wait for table for four but they have a terrific system that lets you leave the restaurant while you wait and actually see where you are on the waitlist via the internet! They called our cellphone when they were ready for us. Would highly, highly recommend!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best wood-fired pizza on Vancouver Island...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Prima Strada has the most amazing wood-fired pizza! The ingredients are locally-sourced and fresh and the menu is simple yet very flavourful. The staff is very accommodating and knowledgeable about the menu selections. You can also sit up at the bar and watch your pizza being prepared...great for kids and adults alike:)
This is our favourite place in Victoria to eat. There are 2 locations, but the best location is in Cook St Village.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Prima Strada also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Pizzeria Prima Strada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Prima Strada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.