We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was an AWESOME day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean River Adventures

Ocean River Adventures
1824 Store Street, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
1 (800) 909-4233
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come enjoy the ultimate Victoria Kayaking Experience with Ocean River Adventures. Located in Victoria’s Inner Harbour kayaking is a great way to explore our historic city. Join us on one of our Urban Kayak tours or Sunset Tour. We also offer an Oak Bay Shoreline Kayaking Tour as well as our unique Discovery Island Kayak or Nature Hiking Tour. Offering expeditions, tours and courses throughout the Vancouver Island region, our guests will experience all the wild West Coast has to offer. Hands-on education about water and marine conservation is a key theme and we only employ certified guides that respect sensitive ecosystems and species while teaching about the importance of ocean sustainability, preservation and conservation. Victoria’s premier kayaking adventure company.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It was an AWESOME day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I did the 6.5 hour Discovery Island tour and it turns out in a great day of kayaking on the ocean. The guides were very helpful, friendly and professional (safety first).
They told us a lot about kayaking and about the wildlife very passionate.

The lunch half way the tour was great arranged. (the coffee was super)

If you like to be active and love kayaking, I will recommend an excursion with Ocean River for the full 100%

Rob

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanRiverAdventures, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean River Adventures, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! It sounds like you had a great time and really enjoyed all that Discovery Island has to offer. We hope to see you out on the water again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    15
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, B.C., Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Discovery Island Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Getting out to Discovery Island is something that not even many residents of Victoria get to do. Thanks to Brian Henry and the staff at ORS for a great day out on the water, first in the Discovery Shuttle, and then in kayaks cruising around Discovery Island. Saw lots of eagles, seals, and a couple of otters. One member of the group found some wolf scat. That was pretty cool. The finale was a stop at the Snug pub at Oak Bay Beach Hotel. Loved it all.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanRiverAdventures, Public Relations Manager at Ocean River Adventures, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
We are so glad you had a great time! Discovery Island certainly is a hidden gem, right within sight of shore! Love hearing about your wildlife encounters too - what a great experience your group had!

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
“lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

the instructors where fantastic, they had me doing things i never thought possible, and enjoy doing them, the day was very informative and rewarding , i can not express my appreciation enough for their knowledge and perseverance, would advise any one thinking of taking up kayaking to take this course

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“well worth a paddle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

friendly, knowledgeable staff and new, safe equipment. a great way to explore the harbour and get a unique perspective on Victoria from the water. no experience necessary and a good time is inevitable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Well Done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

While in Kauai I passed on the opportunity to Paddle board as I wanted to be sure I was paddling correctly. After spending just 3 hours with the instructor Gary at Ocean River , not only do I feel confident enough to Paddle Board in Hawaii, but I want to take my 4 year old out here in Victoria!!
Awesome and thorough! Lot's of fun. I felt one with the water in no time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean River Adventures also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Ocean River Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean River Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.