We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room, tasty breakfasts, and excellent location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marifield House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marifield House B&B
235 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada (James Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big room, tasty breakfasts, and excellent location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We found the hosts to be very kind and accommodating, especially since I have some food allergies. The breakfasts were delicious! We found the price to be very reasonable. Why stay at an expensive hotel when you could stay at the Marifield House, a lovely B&B that is within walking distance from downtown Victoria and Beacon Hill Park.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vleuten
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

It was a very nice place to stay. They baked cookies for my husbands birthday. You have a room extra downstairs where you can read, use internet and drink tea. It is very close to the center (5 minutes walk) and you can park your car at the house.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

The Marifield House B&B is ideally located in an central location in Victoria and is within easy walking distance of the Inner Harbour to the north, the bay to the south, Beacon Hill Park to the east, and a small shopping center (with a Laundromat) to the west. Although we did have a car, we mostly used it for longer trips outside the central city. The B&B is located in James Bay, an old neighborhood and about half a block from the Emily Carr home. It was fun to walk around the neighborhood and see the many heritage houses and gardens. The B&B was beautifully decorated but not so fancy that one didn’t feel comfortable. The owners do require guests to remove their shoes in the front hall but that was no problem. The breakfasts were probably the best meals we had on Vancouver Island and were as beautifully presented as they were delicious. David was very helpful in suggesting places to visit and answering our many questions about Vancouver Island.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

From the minute that David warmly greeted us by opening the door as we walked up, we felt very comfortable. Marifield House is a 10 minute pretty walk from the Bus Terminal near the Empress Hotel and Legislative Buildings. The B & B is in a lovely heritage neighbourhood just past all the big landmarks.

The house has easy signage (Japanese and English) and lots of helpful maps and brochures. My son and I stayed in a nice sized room with twin beds. The area was stone silent at night and the beds were firm and perfect with lovely fresh linens. The room also had a little desk and good reading lights over the beds. For an older home, it had excellent lighting throughout. We accessed the ensuite bathroom which has a shower (no bath) and large bottles of shampoo and soap. The room also had a little TV...a nice bonus at a B & B.

David made us feel welcome to use the large guest living room which has a nice table, lots of sofas and chairs and nice heritage prints on the wall. We were not able to get a good internet connection using their 2 laptops which are available for guests. We weren't that interested anyway so you should know that we didn't pursue this.

Breakfast was outstanding! We met Toshi in the morning and she gave us a warm and friendly greeting and served up one of the healthiest and tastiest B&B breakfasts we've had: whole wheat waffles with fresh berries, whipped cream, pears, maple and blueberry syrups, yogurt, a bowl of fresh fruit with the apples cut in an origami design, delicious organic coffee, sausage, good juice (Tropicana maybe).

David and I had a nice chat...he didn't hover and I think he knew I would enjoy the chat. i think he's the type of guy that would also totally leave you alone if you wanted.

It was all easy and pleasant. We stayed for one night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marifield, Owner at Marifield House B&B, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
We hae wifi and so forth. Sometimes, about once a month, the wifi router stops working and I have to unplug it and plub it back in. But thank you for the nice review! David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

David and Toshie were gracious hosts that spent the time to help us understand the Victoria area. The room (#1) was very comfortable and spacious, and the breakfasts were awesome. See the amenities in the other posts -- we were very well taken care of here.

The location is very close to downtown Victoria (10 min walk). You really don't need a car to get around in Victoria. And, other than the drive to Butchart Gardens, you really don't need a car at all on the island (unless you are driving to the western coast -- some 250+ miles away!). Don't bother traveling up to Nanaimo, as it is a small town with shopping malls and car dealerships -- not at all what we expected. David later suggested he would have avoided the drive there. We should have asked first...

Be sure to visit Butchart Gardens, Government House grounds, and Red Fish Blue Fish down on the float plane docks.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex, UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

We stayed at the Marifield for 2-nights as part of our tour around BC and Alberta. The Marifeld is located in a quiet suburban area of Victoria but close enough to walk into the centre. The house is full of character with a beautiful garden. David and Toshie made us feel very welcome and they had a large number of maps and leaflets of interesting sites in the area. They also provide 2-laptops in the dining room for guests use for emails etc. and WiFi is available downstairs if you are travelling with a laptop.

We stayed in room 1 which is very comfortable with a large bathroom and an enormous double shower. There are all the toiletries you could need, along with bottles of water and a hairdryer. Room 1 is at the front of the house overlooking the front garden and it is very quiet at night. The House is situated about a 15-minute walk down Government Street to the centre of Victoria and we did not need to use our car whilst staying at the Marifield (there is a large parking space to the side of the property).

David's suggestion of a bistro in the evening was very good and only a 10-minute walk away. There is also a launderette and supermarket (Thrifty) in the same area which provides anything you could possibly need. Breakfast is included and Toshie and David bake a range of delights including cinnamon scones and fresh waffles which set you up for a days walking.

Victoria is small enough to see most sights in a day or two and I would definitely recommend a 'tub' trip around the harbour with lunch at the Fishermen's Wharf.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

This B & B is just 5 minutes walk from Parliament Building and the Harbour! A delightfully restored building run by David and Toshie, hosts who cannot do too much to make your stay comfortable and successful! Parking was easy outside their house and you certainly did not need your car to see Victoria.
David's recommendation for dinner at the Heron Rock was excellent.
Breakfast was superb and the room (No 1) was extremely comfortable and had a double shower and double basin en suite. This B & B makes sightseeing in Victoria a real pleasure!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marifield House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marifield House B&B

Address: 235 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marifield House is a 5 minute walk from downtown Victoria and the Inner Harbour. We are located in an historical and residential neighbourhood with tree-lined streets, horse carriages and heritage era and character homes like our own. Our rooms are spacious and sedately decorated. We serve a complete, well-presented breakfast and have side by side off-street parking, wif-fi. We are friendly, bilingual (English/Japanese) and well-traveled. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marifield House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marifield House B&B to your Saves list