We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd live here if I could” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oak Bay Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Royal Experience
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I'd live here if I could”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is the most beautiful hotel in the most beautiful setting. We have stayed here 3 times and just love it. The staff and owners are so nice, they make you feel like family. The pools and spa are to die for, food is always great and the Snug Pub is always fun.

Room Tip: try for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    82
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
146
307
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This totally new refurbished hotel opened end 2012 and features amazing attention to details.

As far as I understood the owner took over from his father in 2006 and invested an huge amount of money.

It came out really well! Located right on the shoreline of the wonderful Oak Bay neighborhood this is the best place to rewind and probably the best hotel in the area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a gorgeous property, right on the water. The grounds and building are beautiful and its awfully nice to be able to watch the sun rise over the ocean. Its a ways from Victoria but in a way that's perfect for some R&R.
The room was very nice (got the two queen bed room) and the hotel provides you with the typical amenities as well as some extras in the kitchen in case you feel like taking a drive to the local fruit/cheese farms or wineries and making yourself a snack in the room. Balcony was small but lets you see the ocean. The only critiques I could offer would be the coffee provided was not great (go to Kates Café for the lattes) and there were very few TV stations - not that you go to this place to sit around and watch TV however, after a very fantastic wine tour of the region we were incapable of doing much else for a while. We also found the hotel oversells itself by constantly promoting buying one of their rooms. Mildly annoying.
But the real gem of this place was the staff - super friendly, kind, patient and helpful. Anything from directions, to providing chauffeured car service, to last minute whale watching tours, the staff were super informative and extremely efficient. We loved those guys.
Lastly, you can drink wine in the pool over looking the ocean. What is more awesome than that?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A really lovely hotel. I would recommend this hotel and area to stay in a heartbeat. It's away from the hustle of downtown and the views go on forever. I would love to come back every year. The Snug has some excellent choices in for a quick bit and their sushi was fab!

Room Tip: Room 333, does not have an ocean view, but it's spacious, quiet and being on a corner is quite l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The rooms are beyond the clean norms and the quality of service is outstanding. Clean pools if you want to stay around or a great shuttle service available if you want to wonder in the city without driving
Great hotel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed in Oak Bay Beach Hotel because of the good deal from coupon website otherwise it is on the higher price range.

Pros:
- Loved the 24/7 pool and hot tub
- Room is beautiful, clean and spacious
- Staff are friendly and accommodating
- Nice facilities and beautiful view
- Easy parking

Cons:
- Far from the Inner Harbour
- Price is at the higher side if there's no discount deal
- We had our breakfast in the restaurant and service was slow

Summary: If I find that discount deal again, definitely will go back here

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I just celebrated our anniversary with a short stay at the Oak Bay Beach Hotel and can't say enough how wonderful it was-our only regret was that we had to leave after just a few days. We've never felt so well taken care of from the moment we were warmly greeted at the door to the fond farewells as we left. Everyone was so gracious, the hotel is gorgeous and the setting is breathtaking. We stayed in one of the rooms that did not face the ocean but didnt mind a bit as the room was quiet, elegantly appointed and the restaurants and public spaces enabled us to enjoy the shoreline as often as we wished. We enjoyed several delicious meals, relaxed outside by the spa pools and loved the beautiful setting with all the amenities. The food and service in the Snug was outstanding and the staff was so friendly that we felt like we were enjoying the company of old friends. The location in Oak Bay was delightful and we enjoyed walking in the neighborhood yet was close enough to easily drive to any of Victoria's attractions. Our thanks to everyone at Oak Bay Beach Hotel for making our anniversary so memorable and we hope to return again soon!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms may be worth a splurge but street side rooms are just as nice and very quiet and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 58 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,510 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#17 of 58 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 stars 2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,396 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#8 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 917 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 58 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral pools while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral pools, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Bay Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.