We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of 4 with kids 9 & 11” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oak Bay Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Leap Into Spring
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Family of 4 with kids 9 & 11”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My family of 4 w/ kids 9 & 11 stayed here while visiting Victoria for 3 days. The hotel and its property are gorgeous and the staff is very friendly! There weren't a lot of kids at the hotel, but we felt very welcome. There is a "whisper time" after 9pm by the pool and neighbors did complain to the hotel when my kids were shouting. The hotel staff was very nice about asking us to keep the noise down and it is understandable since the hotel is in the middle of a neighborhood with condos right next door.
There are three restaurants in the hotel with Kate's being casual and serving kid-friendly food. There is a pub that is really nice with a balcony, however, kids under 19 are not allowed. We were able order drinks though and take them out of the pub to drink by the pool or on the main balcony. The formal dining room was too fancy for our family's casual vacation, so we didn't try it.
The one downside to the hotel is that it is a 15 minute drive out of downtown Victoria. This could be seen as a positive, since it allows for a quiet and relaxing stay with amazing views from the other side of the bay. Unfortunately, for us though, we didn't rent a car so ended up spending a lot of money on cab fare to and from downtown ($20 each way). The hotel does have a shuttle (which is a car fitting 4 passengers), but it was spotty as to when we could actually reserve it. Would have been great if the hotel had a van that drove into town at least a couple of times a day.
Overall, we had a great stay and would recommend others to stay there as long as you are okay with the location (rent a car, are okay with spending a lot on cab fare, or plan to just relax at the hotel most of the time). As mentioned, the hotel is in a neighborhood, so not much to walk to in the way of attractions. The neighborhood is very pretty with cute houses, which makes going for walks enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view as the water, island, and mt views are so much what makes the hotel is beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    69
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
125
269
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Would really like to give this hotel 5 stars, unfortunately it's just not quite there. The devil is in the details, as they say.

The good:
*View is spectacular.
*Food at the hotel is very good.
*Service is good.
*Pool and hot tub is spectacular.

The bad:
*The toilet paper is cheap and scratchy. For a luxury hotel, this is not the place to cut corners.
*The vanity has the most ridiculous faucets and sinks, and you nearly have to place your toothbrush in the overflow drain to get it in the water stream. Gross.
*The toilets are supposed to be Eco-friendly, so that means they don't flush. When you have have to flush 2-3 times to get the scratchy T.P. to flush, you're not conserving anything.
*Our shower was completely broken and missing the knob. How does the staff miss something like this when cleaning? We had to ask for a repair which was just inconvenient. We got an apology.
*The worst thing--lack of wifi. We have a beautiful balcony that we couldn't enjoy our online newspaper subscription from. No kidding, wifi in the room is fine, but as soon as we went on the balcony, absolutely no signal. Same goes for the pool--again absolutely zero wifi signal. In this day and age, I find that extremely unacceptable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked this hotel really without knowing anything about it or Victoria Island. We were so pleasantly surprised with how lovely and personable this hotel was. The staff is beyond wonderful. Everyone: the bellman, front desk personnel, manager, restaurant staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating. (frankly, everyone in Canada we came in contact with was pretty darn nice!). The Oak Beach Hotel is in a great location- away from the hub bub of the city, but close enough to get there in minutes. The wharf was 7 min down the road where we took a whale watching tour. (saw a killer whale pod of 20 Orcas!!). The hotel rooms are immaculate ( and I am very fussy!), and very comfortable. We had a Harbor view, which I recommend, beautiful and quiet!!!! There is a lovely golf course walking distance from the hotel. We didn't play it, but walking past it reminded me alittle of Pebble beach coast view... Wonderful place to stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

First time visit with this luxury hotel … stunning exterior/interior design. Luxurious guest rooms that are beautifully furnished including kitchenette and spacious contemporary bathroom. High quality bed and bath linen. Impeccable! Valet service into the city if needed. Professional, courteous employees. Incredible amenities to relax and enjoy including hot tubs and pool that are designed to make you feel like you're on the ocean's edge! And the view … breathtaking!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

From check-in to check-out, I would say that our experience was superb. The staff were so kind, our room was large, lovely and equipped with everything we could need. The beds were super comfortable with such luxurious linens. There were plenty of towels, a fridge, microwave, toaster and the right amounts of glass and china.The hotel and room were spotlessly clean and even the car park was clean, light and spacious . Parking and internet are free which is a nice change. The spa treatments are so relaxing and the whole pool area down by the ocean is gorgeous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Just got back from Victoria, never been there before, We travel every July 4th holiday with the same couple for the last 30 years. we always want to try something new and do not care much about the budget (within reason). We picked Victoria B.C.. I enjoy researching hotels to find what I hope will be the best. After talking to other people who have been in Victoria, I realized I did not want to be in the direct center of town(very touristy), but I did want to have close accessibility. Also our group wanted a place with a pool and spa and a 5 star resort feel.
Bingo!!!
This hotel had it all, Location was amazing close to town yet in an area that was so far removed from the commercial area yet close to town.. The rooms depending on your budget can be very reasonable to a little pricey, We stayed in the panoramic view one bedroom suite on the 3rd floor( a little more pricey but well worth it). The view will give you a chill on the back of your neck. The Hotel was rebuilt and reopen 2 years ago so everything is brand new. The pool area is awesome, mineral pools and hot tubs plus the view, are really something. The one problem during our stay was that it was a holiday (Canada Day) and the lack of lounge chairs was a problem (although the management realizes the issue and is adding more lounge chairs in the near future). I would give that to growing pains.
Also great bar and restaurants on the premises if you want to dine there (breakfast service a little slow, (but I am from the northeast U.S.,no patience).

But above all the service at this hotel from the complimentary car service into town (about 10 min. ride) to the staff is 5 star. Especially my experience with Bryan (one of the managers at the property). I had an issue at the pool and not only did he do everything in his power to make things right, through out my stay, I would see him or he would find me and make sure things were good. His gracious attitude, and genuineness was over the top.
During my 5 day stay I talked with other guests at the hotel, I will say a lot of them were upscale residents of Victoria or from Vancouver, this just reconfirmed to me that this hotel was the really something speacial.

Room Tip: Anything with a view of the water, even if it is a little more, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBBH_Team, Manager at Oak Bay Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear David R.
We are thrilled that you choose the Oak Bay Beach Hotel for your Victoria getaway. We are so pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable and memorable stay. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our hotel service team. We do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and promise to get that extra seating by our seaside mineral pools so that all of our guests can enjoy this magical place.
Our Best
Michelle Le Sage
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I LOVE the Oak Bay Beach Hotel. On our most recent stay there (we stayed once before in the "old" hotel 10 years ago and once before in the "new" hotel one year ago) we were fortunate enough to get the Penthouse Suite. It was absolutely gorgeous, and left nothing to be desired. I have never stayed in a hotel room before that has an upstairs. The king sized bed and luxurious en suite were in the upstairs area, and the living area, kitchen, dining room, and second bedroom were downstairs. All areas in the room have a breathtaking ocean view. There is a long balcony to sit outside on, and take in the view. There were two fireplaces and three TVs (not that we watched TV while there). Service was excellent, and everyone was warm and welcoming. We ate in the Snug, the dining room, and had room service twice. The food was exceptional. We enjoyed a bottle of Pol Roger Champagne at dinner, and they brought us some special chocolate dipped strawberries to celebrate our anniversary. I am still thinking about the Hollandaise sauce from breakfast, it was delish. The staff were also happy to accomodate our little requests, like extra salmon on the smoked salmon eggs benny. Even the in-room coffee was good. I appreciated the valet parking, and I love the serene pool and hot tub area. I will return again and again, it's our new anniversary tradition. My only extra wish, is that I would have loved a stocked mini-bar.

Room Tip: I assume that all rooms are good, but I would suggest taking advantage of one of the many ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Bay Beach Hotel

Address: 1175 Beach Drive, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oak Bay Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oak Bay Beach Hotel is a spectacular five-star boutique resort and spa. Enjoy fine dining in The Dining Room, a dinner show or movie in the David Foster Foundation Theatre, hot drinks and housemade treats in Kate's Cafe, pub fare in The Snug (a local legend), or a relaxing soak in one of the three seaside hot mineral pools while watching whales breach offshore. Onsite adventure activities, a sommelier, in-room chefs, catering & conference facilities and event planning also available. Each stay includes: complimentary parking, WiFi, local telephone calls, full access to our seaside hot mineral pools, steam sauna and fitness studio, turndown service and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oak Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Bay Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.