We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we needed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Island Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Island Suites to your Saves list
Ocean Island Suites
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   143 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2K6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

As someone who has outgrown the hostel scene, but hasn't grown into the cost of a hotel scene, this was absolutely perfect. My friend and I rented a suite for 4 nights, and were completely comfortable, safe and happy. Check-in was easy (you have to go to Ocean Island Backpackers on Pandora street, but they paid for us to take a cab to the suites.) We were in the Burma room, which is beautifully decorated. Everything was as advertised; the kitchen was totally usable, the bathtub was lovely and deep, and there is a small porch at large back yard. The location is lovely and quiet, and it's a easy walk to parks or downtown. They provide a great info sheet outlining where to find all the necessities (grocery stores, liquor stores, restaurants), and everything is within easy walking distance. As this was a "girls trip", my friend didn't have her kids with her, and I didn't have my dog, but we both agreed had we brought the whole family, we would be perfectly happy in that location. The small downsides (and they're seriously small) was a lack of air circulation (only one window in our suite opened,) and a sticky door and lock (but considering how old and quaint the building is, this is sort of par for the course.) Depending on your neighbors, it might be a little noisy (like most old buildings, the walls don't provide much of a buffer), but this isn't something we had a problem with as everyone staying there was quiet and respectful. I would absolutely recommend this location for friends, families and dogs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coldstream B.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

My family came to visit me from Australia - mum and dad, sister and brother. We stayed in two rooms - Suites 2 & 3 which are at the back of the house. We all had an excellent stay, were thrilled with the location especially considering the low cost of accommodation -- totally worth it, totally recommend!

Room Tip: Pick the Suites at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

My husband and I spent 1 month in Victoria as visiting scholars at the University of Victoria and were very happy with this choice, even though it is not close to the Campus (this gave us the opportunity to enjoy a nice daily walk downtown, to the terminal of the buses for UVic!). James Bay is a beautiful historical neighborhood of Victoria. The suites are just 1 block from the famous "Emily Carr House", at walking distance to James Bay Square, where you find Thrifty (local grocery store) and other shops. Among the restaurants in the area, the artisan bistro "Spinnaker" is just delicious and probably the best. Public transportation nearby include buses for the airport, Sidney (which makes a nice destination for a day trip) and Sooke. A bit further downtown, you will find the terminal of Pacific Coach and Greyhound. The three suites in the house seem all very nice, but probably the two with the entrance on the back yard, are quiter. Wifi is available inside and outside, laundry and iron are at disposal in the basement, and there is a computer + telephone (Free local calls) in the hall of the house. The only "problem" can be the kitchen, pretty basic if you plan to have your meals at home. If you wish, you can book a cleaning service any time.

Room Tip: Choose suites 2 or 3 on the back garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We loved it here. Nicely decorated apartment, fully equipped kitchen, wifi, DVD, laundry, the works! Plus it's pet friendly and near one of the best off-leash dog parks we've ever seen. A short walk to the ocean in one direction and a shortish walk to downtown Victoria in the other. All for the price of a Super 8. We were in Suite #2, which according to the girl who checked us in, is the nicest one.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Arrival was a bit dicey. It was pouring rain and had to take a cab. Most unexpected, the cab drivers in Victoria are among the rudest I have ever encountered ( they were fantastic in Vancouver). You must check in at the Ocean Island Hostel and they get a cab for you to the suites, which are in a lovely renovated Victorian house a few blocks from downtown. All suites have kitchens and there is a nice little yard in back. Each suite has a decorating theme. There is a nice grocery store within a few blocks and public transportation is nearby. I felt very safe as a solo traveler. It was a bit noisy one night, but not for long.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Island Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Island Suites

Address: 143 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2K6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Island Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Individually designed and decorated bright character suites at fantastic affordable daily/weekly/monthly rates. In quiet and historic James Bay, one block from Beacon Hill Park, three blocks from ocean bluffs and beaches and five blocks from downtown. Fully-equipped kitchens, queen sized beds, spacious garden/deck, private entrance, TV/DVD, laundry facilities, free parking, free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Island Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Island Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.