We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Life Suites, Victoria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
City Life Suites, Victoria
751 Fairfield Road, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 4A4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking, Free Wi-Fi
Ontario
2 reviews
“A very pleasant apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a comfortable, clean, and quiet bachelor apartment (the bed is separated from the street by the kitchen and living room). It is full of nice touches like the chocolates on the night table, the fruit, bread and milk that are there when you arrive. Steve and Trish are great, providing a friendly and informative welcome. I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Manager at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for the kind words Patricia. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the City Vibe Suite to be quiet and pleasant.
We always do our best to ensure that our guests are made welcome and comfortable and so we are grateful to know that you appreciated the "little extras" that we always provide to our guests,
Please come back and stay with us again the next time you visit Victoria, we'd love to see you again.
Best wishes,
Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
25
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Funchal, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellently equipped kitchen.
Quiet and comfortable.
Bus to U Vic is across street.
Handy to BC museum.
Excellent restaurants in walking distance.
Efficient and secure parking.
Very thorough introduction to apartment.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Owner at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks John! You said it all in a very succinct way. It was a pleasure to meet you when you were staying with us and we appreciate your very kind comments about our Urban Suite.
We hope you'll come back to Victoria again some time and look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes,
Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at City Life "Panorama" with two adult daughters and a friend. We never tired of the city views and the location was perfect for exploring Victoria. The condo was immaculate and well equipped with two comfortable bedrooms and two full bathrooms. We spent most of our time in the condo on the outdoor balcony watching the birds, traffic and sunsets and moon rise. The condo managers were very gracious and helpful and we made good use of the wealth of information about Vancouver Island in the condo. We had a rental car for the week, but next time we would likely rent a car for a couple of days only as a car isn't needed in Victoria and transportation to the Butchart gardens and other island locations is readily available. The car was great for exploring the coasts and getting to hiking trails. When we left Victoria, we were already thinking about when we can return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Manager at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
It is always such a pleasure to meet guests who are as charming and considerate as you M & S. We so much enjoyed meeting you and we're so glad that your visit to Victoria, BC, and your stay in the City Panorama Suite were both so enjoyable.
The reason that all of our self-catering vacation rental properties are located in downtown Victoria is for exactly the reasons you describe "a car isn't needed in Victoria and transportation is readily available". As well, the condos are all so close to the main tourist areas and there are lots of restaurants, attractions, parks, beaches, coffee shops etc. all within just a few minutes walk.
So, thanks again for your kind words and we hope you'll come and stay with us again the next time you visit Victoria.
Very best wishes to you and the girls!
Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

City Life Suites was a home away from home for us while we were visiting Victoria. We were provided with a thorough orientation of the suite and the building, which made us very comfortable staying there.
The building is very secure with key fob access in and out of the building. The suite and the building is very clean and centrally located downtown. We were able to explore Victoria on foot and enjoyed several good restaurants within a few blocks.
Many amenities are provided in the suites such as umbrellas and even some food to get us started, so there was no need to rush off to the market to get some food right away. There was even a full carousel of spices to choose from when cooking!

We definetly plan to visit again and we will be staying with City Life Suites! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Owner at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks for all the positive comments, it sounds as though most everything was to your liking and we're pleased about that.
We try our very best to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us and always welcome feedback about the things we might do better.
Please feel free to contact us at any time with any suggestions or comments, they are always welcome as that's the only way we can improve our product offerings.
Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Metro Suite of City Life Suites.The suite is beautifully decorated and impeccably clean. It has a fully equipped kitchen and everything in the suite is incredibly well maintained..The suite is very conveniently located, within walking distance to the inner harbour and downtown core.(Munro's Bookstore and the adjacent Murchies Cafe are not to be missed.) It is also walking distance to Cook Street Village and Beacon Hill Park.We highly recommend the Suite and thank Steve and Trish Young, the hosts, for their personal attention, their thoughtfulness and their gracious hospitality. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Owner at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you Bill and Jeanine, it was so nice to get to know you both and it gives us a great deal of pleasure knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

There's a lot to be said for the convenience of the location of the Metro Suite and we work really hard to ensure that our guests have everything they need to enjoy their stay with us.

We hope we'll see you again next year and we'll keep you posted as to availability.

Thanks again! Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We went last year for a convention at The Empress. Loved the hotel but must say we adored being at City Life Suites, place very well situated. Short walk from the Empress. Place is imaculate an the hosts go out of their way to make your stay unforgettable.

Enjoyed having our own appartment and going out as we pleased.

Do not hesitate to stay at this place. You will not be disappointed.

We will certaining stay there if we return to Victoria.

Irene
027

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Owner at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words Irene. When we rate a comparison to the esteemed Fairmont Empress Hotel, we feel quite humbled.

Having a location that is only a block away from that "grand old lady" and offering a full suite of rooms at a price that is far less than you would ever end up paying in a 5 Star hotel, is something our many guests have commented on.

We hope you'll return again sometime soon, it was a sincere pleasure to have met you and we'll always keep the welcome mat out for you.

Thanks again,
Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from two weeks in the gorgeous Cosmopolitan Suite. I'm stumped as to what I can add that others haven't already said regarding the care and attention that Trish and Steve take to ensure their properties have everything that a traveler might need, or want, in a home-away-from-home. They are simply the best.

So what do you get when you book with Trish and Steve? In our case, a beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, loft-style apartment located within walking distance of great restaurants and the Inner Harbour, filled with top-of-the-line appliances--including a washer and dryer. You'll start your visit with Steve's careful advice on everything from where to eat and buy your groceries to how to get your WIFI up and working. Then you'll notice Trish's thoughtful stocking of the basics in the refrigerator and pantry--right down to parchment paper and custom-roasted coffee beans! Honestly, when Trish asked me at the end of our stay what they could do to improve our experience, I couldn't think of a single thing. And I'm a VERY picky traveler when it comes to our accommodations, as my husband would attest!

My only regret is, if the word gets out on City Life Suites, they'll be too busy for us to book a reservation the next time--and we definitely want a next time! So thanks, again, Steve and Trish; it was wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Manager at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks so much for your very comprehensive review. It was delightful to meet you both and to discover that we already know lots about each other from our mutual "home town".
We also wanted to let you know how thankful we are for being such wonderful guests who treated the Cosmopolitan Suite as though it was your own home (which is how we want it to feel for our guests).
If you come back to visit again we'll be sure to roll out the red carpet for you and will look forward to getting together for another fine cuppa at Venus Sophia Tea Room.
All the best and thanks again for your kind words.
Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Life Suites, Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Life Suites, Victoria

Address: 751 Fairfield Road, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty lodging in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from 10, fully furnished, self-catering vacation rental apartments located in downtown Victoria, BC. Studio suite near Inner Harbour,1 bedroom with additional sofa bed in living room near Inner Harbour, 2 bedroom/1 bathroom sub-penthouse with spectacular views over the city near Chinatown, 2 bedroom/2 bathroom 19th floor condo with great ocean and mountain views near Inner Harbour, 2 bedroom/2 bathroom Penthouse suite in central theatre district with outstanding city views, 1 bedroom plus den close to historic Old Town, Studio overlooking Upper Harbour, 2 x 1 bedroom adjacent to Chinatown. All our apartments are non-smoking, beautifully equipped and maintained and within easy walking distance of local shopping and tourist attractions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Life Suites, Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added City Life Suites, Victoria to your Saves list