We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Life Suites, Victoria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
City Life Suites, Victoria
Save
You added City Life Suites, Victoria to your Saves list
751 Fairfield Road, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 4A4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking, Free Wi-Fi
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

City Life Suites was a home away from home for us while we were visiting Victoria. We were provided with a thorough orientation of the suite and the building, which made us very comfortable staying there.
The building is very secure with key fob access in and out of the building. The suite and the building is very clean and centrally located downtown. We were able to explore Victoria on foot and enjoyed several good restaurants within a few blocks.
Many amenities are provided in the suites such as umbrellas and even some food to get us started, so there was no need to rush off to the market to get some food right away. There was even a full carousel of spices to choose from when cooking!

We definetly plan to visit again and we will be staying with City Life Suites! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Owner at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thanks for all the positive comments, it sounds as though most everything was to your liking and we're pleased about that.
We try our very best to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us and always welcome feedback about the things we might do better.
Please feel free to contact us at any time with any suggestions or comments, they are always welcome as that's the only way we can improve our product offerings.
Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
28
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Metro Suite of City Life Suites.The suite is beautifully decorated and impeccably clean. It has a fully equipped kitchen and everything in the suite is incredibly well maintained..The suite is very conveniently located, within walking distance to the inner harbour and downtown core.(Munro's Bookstore and the adjacent Murchies Cafe are not to be missed.) It is also walking distance to Cook Street Village and Beacon Hill Park.We highly recommend the Suite and thank Steve and Trish Young, the hosts, for their personal attention, their thoughtfulness and their gracious hospitality. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Owner at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you Bill and Jeanine, it was so nice to get to know you both and it gives us a great deal of pleasure knowing that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.

There's a lot to be said for the convenience of the location of the Metro Suite and we work really hard to ensure that our guests have everything they need to enjoy their stay with us.

We hope we'll see you again next year and we'll keep you posted as to availability.

Thanks again! Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We went last year for a convention at The Empress. Loved the hotel but must say we adored being at City Life Suites, place very well situated. Short walk from the Empress. Place is imaculate an the hosts go out of their way to make your stay unforgettable.

Enjoyed having our own appartment and going out as we pleased.

Do not hesitate to stay at this place. You will not be disappointed.

We will certaining stay there if we return to Victoria.

Irene
027

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Owner at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words Irene. When we rate a comparison to the esteemed Fairmont Empress Hotel, we feel quite humbled.

Having a location that is only a block away from that "grand old lady" and offering a full suite of rooms at a price that is far less than you would ever end up paying in a 5 Star hotel, is something our many guests have commented on.

We hope you'll return again sometime soon, it was a sincere pleasure to have met you and we'll always keep the welcome mat out for you.

Thanks again,
Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I just returned from two weeks in the gorgeous Cosmopolitan Suite. I'm stumped as to what I can add that others haven't already said regarding the care and attention that Trish and Steve take to ensure their properties have everything that a traveler might need, or want, in a home-away-from-home. They are simply the best.

So what do you get when you book with Trish and Steve? In our case, a beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, loft-style apartment located within walking distance of great restaurants and the Inner Harbour, filled with top-of-the-line appliances--including a washer and dryer. You'll start your visit with Steve's careful advice on everything from where to eat and buy your groceries to how to get your WIFI up and working. Then you'll notice Trish's thoughtful stocking of the basics in the refrigerator and pantry--right down to parchment paper and custom-roasted coffee beans! Honestly, when Trish asked me at the end of our stay what they could do to improve our experience, I couldn't think of a single thing. And I'm a VERY picky traveler when it comes to our accommodations, as my husband would attest!

My only regret is, if the word gets out on City Life Suites, they'll be too busy for us to book a reservation the next time--and we definitely want a next time! So thanks, again, Steve and Trish; it was wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Manager at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks so much for your very comprehensive review. It was delightful to meet you both and to discover that we already know lots about each other from our mutual "home town".
We also wanted to let you know how thankful we are for being such wonderful guests who treated the Cosmopolitan Suite as though it was your own home (which is how we want it to feel for our guests).
If you come back to visit again we'll be sure to roll out the red carpet for you and will look forward to getting together for another fine cuppa at Venus Sophia Tea Room.
All the best and thanks again for your kind words.
Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The condo is exactly like the pictures, but the view is even more spectacular. Well equipped, spotless, and comfortable only begins to describe this "home away from home". Trish and Steve ensured every question was answered and every need was anticipated. Because we arrived late in the evening, they had milk, bread and fruit available for the next morning. So thoughtful. It really did feel like we were house-sitting for dear friends. I would highly recommend this rental and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, General Manager at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Well, we couldn't have said it better K-A. Thanks a million for the very gracious review and we'll look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Best wishes,
Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at the suite at Mermaid Wharf for most of March 2013. It was a lovely oasis in downtown Victoria. A real home away from home. I recommend this suite for anyone traveling to Victoria for business or pleasure. The only thing to be aware of, which I was told before I rented the suite, is that on Thursday - Saturday nights the Canoe Club next door can be a bit noisy. However, the Canoe Club is an excellent place to eat and drink, and to sit on the patio in summer. So if you can't beat 'em, join 'em!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, General Manager at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words Bernadine and for noting that we always give full disclosure regading the weekend music from across the street at the Canoe Club. When the windows are closed it is barely audible, but some folks may find it disturbing.
Having said that, most of our guests see it as a "bonus" to the location, as they can sit on the terrace of the Canoe Club and enjoy the waterfront atmosphere while sampling their delicious menu items and ther micro-brewed ales and beers.
Thanks again Berdine, we hope you'll come back for another visit sometime soon.
Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A year in advance of the 2013 Men's World Curling Championships held in early April 2013 I began looking for accommodation for my husband and I and two of our friends from Victoria. The four of us had attended the 2005 Men's Worlds in Victoria. This time around I was anxious to find accommodation which would be an easy walk to the arena. The Sky Line suite looked perfect on paper and based on the excellent reviews I quickly contacted the owners and was successful in making a reservation.

Upon arrival in Victoria we telephoned Steve and by the time we travelled to the condo he was waiting to greet us. Pride of ownership not only in the condo but the entire building is apparent. Steve took the time to walk us through amenities in the apartment and building and provided some great advice on restaurants etc., in the area.

The view from the condo is breathtaking and attention to detail inside the condo beyond compare. Furnished beautifully and equipped with every imaginable convenience it is easy to feel at home in this beautiful suite.

Without hesitation I would recommend this suite, or any of the City Life suites for anyone considering a visit to Victoria. You won't be disappointed!

Thanks to Steve and Trish for their graciousness...we look forward to a return visit in the future!

Sandy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, General Manager at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We love your very kind words Sandy and appreciate that you've taken the time to share your experiences in our City Skyline Suite with other would-be guests.
It is always our aim to provide quality accommodations, great service, fair pricing and the best locations in downtown Victoria, B.C. and we are pleased that we rated so well with you on all points.
Please come back and see us again soon and, again, thanks for your very supportive comments.
Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Life Suites, Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Life Suites, Victoria

Address: 751 Fairfield Road, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from 10, fully furnished, self-catering vacation rental apartments located in downtown Victoria, BC. Studio suite near Inner Harbour,1 bedroom with additional sofa bed in living room near Inner Harbour, 2 bedroom/1 bathroom sub-penthouse with spectacular views over the city near Chinatown, 2 bedroom/2 bathroom 19th floor condo with great ocean and mountain views near Inner Harbour, 2 bedroom/2 bathroom Penthouse suite in central theatre district with outstanding city views, 1 bedroom plus den close to historic Old Town, Studio overlooking Upper Harbour, 2 x 1 bedroom adjacent to Chinatown. All our apartments are non-smoking, beautifully equipped and maintained and within easy walking distance of local shopping and tourist attractions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Life Suites, Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.