We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Life Suites, Victoria

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
City Life Suites, Victoria
Save Saved
You added City Life Suites, Victoria to your Saves list
751 Fairfield Road, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 4A4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This review is waaay overdue. We stayed here back in July 2008 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Metro Suite during our first visit to Victoria. Steve was very helpful and provided us with a lot of great information. The suite was very well equipped (Better than a hotel). He even gave us some fruits and light breakfast - Very thoughtful gesture. Steve understands hospitality and service which is what gave us a great start to our Vancouver islands vacation. The place was very comfortable and clean as well as quite contemporary. From what I recall, the place was also very well located.

This was our first time trying out an independently owned vacation suite other than hotels and we would stay here again!

Tripadvisor doesn't seem to allow entering travel dates prior to a year and that is why I have stated March 2012 as the travel date.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
25
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is our 3rd stay at the Mermaid Wharf (City Harborside Suite) but our first stay with City Life Suites. I have to say, this one was THE best. First, working with City Life Suites was wonderful. They pay careful attention to all details to make sure your trip to Victoria goes smoothly. A nice welcoming touch is the fruit, bread and milk provided to get you started when you first arrive. In meeting with them on check out, you could tell that they genuinely care that you enjoyed your stay and didn't encounter any issues. They take pride in their apartment and ask for feedback to improve the stay for future guests. The apartment was exceptionally clean, well laid out for efficient use of space, had plenty of storage space and had a fully equipped kitchen though we didn't use it as there are so many wonderful restaurants within walking distance (and we were visiting relatives). Our favorites were the Canoe Club (steps away from the building) and John's (good for breakfast). It felt like the apartment was either recently remodeled or very well maintained as everything seemed new. The pictures posted accurately reflect the apartment. The location is perfect as you can walk to downtown: Chinatown is just a block away, walk across the Johnson street bridge to the Galloping Goose trail and the view of the harbor is right out the window! We would definitely stay here again when visiting Victoria!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Manager at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thanks for your very complimentary review Theresa. We try to exceed our guests expectations (not always an easy thing to do:-) and when we get reviews such as yours it makes everything so worthwhile for us.
The City Harbourside Suite is a lovely vacation rental apartment and the location, overlooking the Upper Harbour is great. Having the Canoe Club across the street has many additional benefits, although some of our guests find it a bit noisy there in the summer months when their patrons enjoy the open air dining on their waterfront terrace, or when they have live music on the weekends...but the food there is delicious and the fact that they make their own beers and ales right on the premises is terrific.
We're glad that you found everything was close-by and convenient and that the apartment was comfortable and well equipped.
Please come back again soon, we'd love to see you again.
Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The City Life Suites Urban studio apartment was absolutely perfect for our holiday in Victoria BC. Travelling from London and arriving in Canada Christmas eve, we really wanted a home away from home feel, being able to make a Christmas dinner and have a relaxing Christmas was paramount. Our first impression were the apartment was super clean with fresh contemporary furnishings and the location is second to none.

We were so impressed with the level of detail the owners had gone to to make our stay special and the equipment in the apartment was beyond our expectations, they really had not missed anything that we might need to make our stay comfortable.

We cannot recommend the City Life Suites more! The bed was super comfy, and we had everything we needed even tupperware to take pack lunches out and about with us, which really helped budget our holiday. They made our stay perfect and even helped us secure a wonderful Whale watching tour. Many thanks to Trish and Steve! We wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Owner at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thanks so much for such a generous review! We are glad that the Urban Suite "exceeded your expectations" as this is what we strive for with all our guests.
We do try to ensure that all of our vacation rentals are really well-equipped and always encourage our guests to inform us if we've overlooked anything that might have helped to make their stay more pleasant.
It's a long way from London, UK to Victoria, BC, Canada and we're glad that it was so worthwhile for you.
Thanks again S. please come back for another visit soon.
Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I recently stayed at the City Life Suites, in Victoria, BC. for work. Coming from Montreal, our CGI office in Victoria reserved the apartment with the owners Steve and Trish. In short, I’m really glad they did. :)

The apartment is well decorated, immaculately clean and fully functional. I was in Victoria for 2 months (Oct-Nov 2012) and it felt good to feel at home while being away from home. I even had a space in the garage to park my car rental. Even though I ate most of the time in restaurants, the kitchen was well supplied with crockery and cooking utensils and even basic condiments available for my usage. Steve and Trish, the owners, are totally dedicated to making sure everything is perfect. They are always available to answer the phone and do not hesitate to ask for your input in order to improve the service and guests experience.
The apartment is well located and at walking distance to most of downtown shops, restaurants and happening places. The Inner harbour is literally at 2 block distance.

I strongly recommend this place to anyone, or any property owned and managed by Steve and Trish.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Owner at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
You were a great guest Michel and we are very grateful for kind words about our Metro Suite. The location is absolutely perfect for guests who are visiting Victoria on business at it is in the heart of downtown Victoria.
Also, having the convenience of a full kitchen, washer/dryer, iron, ironing board, parking, free wi-fi, free local and N. American long distance phone calls is an added bonus.
We hope you'll come back again to stay with us and we thank you very much for your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I stayed at the Urban Suite for five weeks – and loved it. The apartment itself is very neat, clean and there is really everything you need in it. The location could not be better if you want to stay downtown. As a woman travelling alone, I also felt very safe in the building and neighbourhood. But even better than the apartment are the owners: you won't find that in any hotel. Steve and Trish are wonderful people and go out of their way to help and make your stay pleasant and comfortable. Emails and questions are answered promptly and carefully. When my car broke down, Steve was the first to help. And he did not give up when the first solution would not work. Instead he came down to the apartment twice to help until the car would run again. Sometimes, when abroad, not having to deal with a problem alone is almost as important as actually solving it. Furthermore, Steve and Trish took me out for tea and we had a great time talking and getting to know each other. I deeply appreciate the helpful and cordial way Steve and Trish care for their guests. I would recommend this place to anybody!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Owner at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
You were a perfect guest and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Urban Suite. We do our best to ensure that all of our guests have a safe and comfortable stay with us and to consider their needs as our priority.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you come to Victoria and will always keep the welcome mat out for you.
Thanks again!
Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the Cosmopolitan Suite in downtown Victoria, BC. The apartment is very spacious, beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and had all the requirements to make the apartment a home away from home. The rooftop garden and barbecue area, with a 360 degree view over Victoria, was a lovely bonus . The kitchen was well supplied with crockery and cooking utensils and even basic condiments available so we didn't have to worry about buying a whole packet for a small use. All we needed to do was unpack and we instantly felt at home. Our hosts, Steve & Trish had gone to the extra trouble of preparing a welcoming bowl of fresh fruit on our arrival. The apartment is in a great location with restaurants, shops and harbour all within easy walking distance. Steve & Trish were most welcoming and happy to help with anything we needed. I would happily stay here again if we return for another visit to Victoria.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Manager at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
One of the things we love about our vacation rental business is the opportunity to meet so many wonderful people from all around the world. Having visited in Melbourne, Australia ourselves it was a real treat to have a couple of guests from the great city, coming here to Victoria, BC for a visit. You were such a great couple and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Cosmopolitan Suite.
Our main goal is to provide great value for our guests and to read through your comments we are thankful that we seem to have done that for you. The Cosmopolitan Suite is everything you say and is in a great downtown location too.
We're looking forward to seeing you again and wish to thank you for your very supportive comments and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
Thanks again,
Steve and Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently visited Victoria for a week to visit our son. It was somewhat of a family reunion because our daughter also went along and we hadn't all been together for a few years. On recommendations from close friends, we contacted City Life Suites and ended up staying in the City Panorama Suite which is a 2 br, 2 bath condo on the 18th floor of a very clean and secure building. We had a wonderful time and the City Panorama Suite was perfect. We felt very much at home. It was very clean, nicely decorated, comfortable and includes a designated indoor parking spot. It has a fully equiped kitchen where we prepared our breakfasts and a few family dinners. The location is ideal because it's only a couple of blocks from the Inner Harbor and all the main tourist attractions. The owners (or in our case friends of the owners) were there to meet us when we arrived and showed us all the features of the building and the condo. We had a wonderful time and will definitely stay with them next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve Y, Manager at City Life Suites, Victoria, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your family reunion in Victoria and that your stay in the City Panorama Suite provided you with everything you needed to be comfortable and secure.
It is our mission to provide our guests with all the amenities they need to ensure their stay with us is everything they would expect.
The convenient downtown location of the City Panorama Suite and the tremendous views over the city are both factors that enhance our guests enjoyment of staying there.
So, thanks again for your kind comments, we hope you'll come back and stay with us again the next time you visit Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Life Suites, Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Life Suites, Victoria

Address: 751 Fairfield Road, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 4A4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from 10, fully furnished, self-catering vacation rental apartments located in downtown Victoria, BC. Studio suite near Inner Harbour,1 bedroom with additional sofa bed in living room near Inner Harbour, 2 bedroom/1 bathroom sub-penthouse with spectacular views over the city near Chinatown, 2 bedroom/2 bathroom 19th floor condo with great ocean and mountain views near Inner Harbour, 2 bedroom/2 bathroom Penthouse suite in central theatre district with outstanding city views, 1 bedroom plus den close to historic Old Town, Studio overlooking Upper Harbour, 2 x 1 bedroom adjacent to Chinatown. All our apartments are non-smoking, beautifully equipped and maintained and within easy walking distance of local shopping and tourist attractions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Life Suites, Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.