We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked based on the Breakfast and was not disappointed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
59 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2A7, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 110 Victoria B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Booked based on the Breakfast and was not disappointed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Found this place through TripAdvisor and after checking out Gingerbread Cottage's website and seeing pictures of the amazing breakfast, decided to book here.

We took the Helijet from Vancouver in the morning and the Cottage was very easy to find, being a 10-15 minute walk from the landing point in James Bay. Very conveniently located (although everything in Victoria is relatively close by!), and about a 15 minute leisurely walk into the main 'downtown' of Victoria where Parliament building and the marina are.

Although we arrived much earlier than the 3pm check-in, at 8:30am we were still greeted and welcomed to leave our bags until the room was ready. We were spending the full day out anyways so this was not a problem, and Vanessa had let us know ahead of time that our room was occupied the night before and they have a 11am check-out, so no problem! We could smell the delicious breakfast cooking for that morning and couldn't wait until ours the next day.

The Cottage has two entrances on either side of the house with two stairways, allowing for some privacy when you come and go from your room. We stayed in the Klimt room which of course featured many pieces of artwork of Klimt and also had a nice deck with lots of flowers to enjoy. The owners have a cat (beware if you have allergies!) and two cuckatoos who are very friendly and like to be pet.

When we arrived back at the Cottage at 9pm after seeing Parliament lit up, our bags were in our room and the lights on to welcome us in. The room is a nice size with a Queen sized bed, desk, two chairs, kettle and tea to enjoy as well as private bathroom with soaps, shampoos, etc. There is also a small fridge in case you need to refrigerate anything. One minor thing is the floor creaks, but that didn't really affect our stay.

Breakfast the next morning was delicious. They provide a buffet of granola, watermelon (cut in heart shapes), pineapple, fresh blueberry scones (they were still warm!), apple strudel, rhubarb cake, fresh whipped cream, rhubarb juice and orange juice! You also get your choice of tea or coffee brought to your table. The table is so cute and all set up with beautiful silverware and doilies and homemade jams and jellies. Also as part of the breakfast you get to choose a main item... our choice was between Omelette with steak mushrooms, Omelette with 3 cheeses and ham, Omelette with Garden Vegetables or Blueberry Crepes. I would definitely recommend the Omelette with Garden Vegetables or with the steak mushrooms. They are delicious and after all the sweets on the buffet table it was nice to have savoury options!

All in all a great stay, and we even left with buying a few of their homemade quince jellies!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Vanessa and her husband are great hosts and were very generous with their home, their food, and their love of their region. She made a lot of great suggestions for things to do and her breakfast is worth the price of the room alone. My daughter was fascinated with the two cockatoos and Butler the cat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This Victorian style cottage is well-located within easy walking distance of the harbor. And you'll need the exercise to walk off Vanessa's fabulous breakfasts! The rooms are cozy, with everything you need including tea and coffee facilities, small refrigerator and cups/plates/silverware. Our room had an adjacent rooftop terrace which was quite nice. No AC, but you won't need it. Knowledgable hosts can help you plan activities and suggest dining options.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

This is a great little B&B for anyone who wants to stay close to the action downtown. After our delicious breakfast of omeletts and other various goodies we walked to the museum and other points of interest. Next time I would like to stay in the Lavender Room with the white crisp sheets and a garden deck off of it. Our room was suitable because there were three of us girls just wanting accommodations but it seemed rather small for all of us. Vanessa was very knowledgeable of the area and very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My daughter and I, along with my dear Aunt Ann decided to take the Blackball Ferry from Port Angeles to Victoria, and I had researched this little bed and breakfast. It was all that and more. Very affordable, close to the ferry landing, in a beautiful neighborhood and the breakfasts were just unbelievable. It is so quaint and special in an old-world way. The caretakers were super accomodating (it was a year back so I can't remember their names as I write this, but their names are mentioned in other reviews). The cat, the cockatoos -- everything was just so special.
My daughter was 13 at the time and we're from San Diego so this was very different for us, and such a nice change of scenery. I would highly recommend the high tea at the (I think) White Heather Room? The food and tea was delicious, and it's affordable. The location doesn't look like it will be as fantastic as it was, but it was among the best I've had. Of course the Buchart Gardens are a must. The historic hotel at the waterfront is amazing, and then the Royal museum is also really worth the time and money.
We loved Victoria.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights late January-early February, and chose this location for proximilty to the ocean and to downtown, and for the description of the breakfasts. We were not disappointed on any count, and Vanessa and Dean's graciousness and hospitality were a highlight of our trip.
Readers be warned: the breakfast (brunch, really) is not for wimps! Copious food, lovingly prepared and professionally presented, with careful attention to quality and homemade ingedients. We were sustained right through to dinnertime.
All was as described on the entertaining and informative website: bed was comfortable, with down duvet, and internet was reliable and high-speed.
We highly recommend Gingerbread Cottage to guests who appreciate fine food, privacy, and location near downtown.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

On our short trip we stayed at the Gingerbread Cottage B&B in Victoria for a couple of day's. Having worked in the Food and Beverage industry for close to 50 years, I am well qualified to write a review.
The owner of the B&B; Vanessa von Schellwitz has a very charming personality. Most chef's could learn quite a bit from her. The breakfast spree that she puts on is out of this world and can compete with any 5 star hotel . Vanessa does all her own cooking.
Jams, lotions, soaps and bath salts are all made by her.
As a professional chef I have never seen such an exquisite Buffet breakfast . There are Smoked salmon omelettes, more egg varieties, then you can think off, Apple struddel out of this world. Excellent coffee , freshly squeezed juices. A variety of items you would only find in a 5 star resort.
From the moment we set foot at the lodging we felt at home.
The B&B is located downtown on a scenic side road close to the harbour and close to the center of all the site seeing.
Because all her guests are either by repeat or by word of mouth , it is advisable to make a reservation very early on, as otherwise you will never have the chance of tasting her wonderful food and hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 59 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2A7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salzburg chef Vanessa von Schellwitz welcomes you to her Gingerbread Cottage,a quiet and well zoned 1905 Heritage home which is an easy walk from US ferries, downtown and all attractions in Victoria's beautiful Inner Harbour, 1/2 block from ocean. Take the airporter to and from our door if you are arriving at YYJ. Our reasonable prices include Gourmet 4 course breakfast, cute 1905 rooms with roof gardens. Breakfasts are very stylishly set with Antique Victorian Silver. Vanessa prepares delicious specialties like lox or garden omlettes, berry crepes and fresh Austrian Apple Strudel. Good value, quiet and great location 1/2 block from Victoria's famous Dallas Road ocean promenade, Ogden Point cruise ship docks, and Breakwater structure. Book early as we tend to fill our rooms very fast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gingerbread Cottage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.