We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy fish and chips! Fast, friendly service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Troll's Horseshoe Bay

Troll's Horseshoe Bay
6408 Bay St, Vancouver, British Columbia V7W 2H1, Canada
+1 604-921-7755
Improve this listing
Ranked #814 of 2,933 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Troll's Restaurant was established in 1946 by Joe and Dorothy Troll and remains in the Troll's family today. We are conveniently located by the Horseshoe Bay ferry terminal with a waterfront view that will leave you wanting more so stop on by next time you are in our neighborhood. World famous fish and chips, burgers, sandwiches and classic clam chowder are always available and for you early risers we start serving breakfast at 6AM so be sure to come and fill up before you continue on your journey!
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Yummy fish and chips! Fast, friendly service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We came into Tolks restaurant yesterday, with a group of three. It was dinner time, on a Sunday, so it was fairly busy. However, we were seated quickly,at the table of our choice! We each ordered the halibut and chips, and they were as delicious as ever! The waiter was friendly, and he came back a couple of times to see if all was ok. We really enjoyed the meal, and the service! If you are in Horseshoe Bay, this is a great place to have a tasty meal!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly K, General Manager at Troll's Horseshoe Bay, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Bill....so glad to hear you had a great time on Sunday...and it was Father's Day...even better! We appreciate you taking the time to let us all know what a great time you had! Hope to see you again soon. Cheers, Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    69
    39
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cool Place to Eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We are in Vancouver for a few days on vacation and based on a recommendation we headed up tp Horseshoe Bay and ate at Troll's. we ate outside and enjoyed the amazing views. Burgers were just ok, but the breakfasts and sandwich/soup was really good. Staff was friendly and we loved playing at the park across the street. Highly recommend Troll's if looking for a fun family outing with great views, good food, and cold beer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly K, General Manager at Troll's Horseshoe Bay, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
RRCoopers.....thank you so much for your review! We love it when the travelers enjoy their time with us in our beautiful little village!...and all the way from Texas! Thanks...hope to see you again sometime soon! Cheers, Holly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Worst of the worst.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Boy ! has this place gone downhill in a heck of a hurry. Disgusting food served by a totally indifferent server ( she is still probably wondering why I didn't leave a tip ).
Troll's had such a good reputation at one time but I guess those days are gone. We stopped in for breakfast prior to boarding the ferry for Nanaimo.
As far as being presentable the server was far from it, no smile, no hello and made it rather obvious we were " a bit of a nuisance to her " .
Sausage and eggs, two orders please, one coffee ,,,, thank you ,,, sorry to bother you ,,,.
To me there is something radically wrong when breakfast in a place such as Troll's cannot be produced without the use of a deep fryer.
The pre - frozen cubed potatoes were deep fried but worst of all so were the sausages, dark brown and tough as shoes leather ,,, disgusting to say the least.
The toast on the plate, no way of knowing which side was buttered ( if it was buttered at all ).I was served one coffee ( $ 2.15 ) and that was the last we saw of the server, until she brought the bill, no refill for the coffee ,,, not a chance.
I was day chef at a four star resort, I've cooked thousands of breakfasts and quality ones at that and not once in my years of cooking breakfasts did I ever use a deep fryer for hash browns and especially sausages.
Too bad that restaurant ( Troll's ) doesn't have any competition as far as breakfasts are concerned in Horseshoe Bay. Even the breakfast food on board BC Ferries is far superior to the crap they sling at Troll's ,,, don't even dream of eating breakfast in that place ,,,, the bill by the way was $ 27.85 ,,, no tip of course.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly K, General Manager at Troll's Horseshoe Bay, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
My heart drops when I read reviews like this. As the General Manager I and my team strive to provide the best of food, service and ambiance possible and it is clear from this customer's response he liked none of it. I can make no excuses for his feelings and can assure other customers his opinions are just that...his opinions. This is a difficult world in which to make everyone happy...so for you sir...I apologize and wish you all great experiences elsewhere. For those of you who do have great experiences at our restaurant....thank you for your patronage...we know you are out there....and appreciate the good things you do say about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Five of us went for a quick lunch before boarding the ferry to Nanaimo. The service was great and the food was yummy. It was fresh, tasty, with good sized portions.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly K, General Manager at Troll's Horseshoe Bay, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Sunnie48....Thanks!! Glad everything worked out for you yesterday. I was in the room yesterday and saw your party come....and go....and was pleased we were able to accommodate you in a timely fashion with good food and good service! It's what we always strive for! Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Yummy in my Tummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Me and my other half had an hour to wait for the ferry and we were hungry so decided to go to Trolls.

We were greeted with a glass of iced water each and ordered our meals.

We shared yam fries, I had clam chowder and my other half has the egg and bacon toasted sandwich with potato tots. It arrived in under 20 minutes. Was delicious! Definitely will eat there again when we wait for the ferry!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly K, General Manager at Troll's Horseshoe Bay, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Rachie:...Thanks!!! Always nice to hear from those customers who do have a great experience at our restaurant!!! We look forward to serving you again! Enjoy the sunny summer we are just about to have!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Troll's Horseshoe Bay also viewed

West Vancouver, British Columbia
West Vancouver, British Columbia
 
West Vancouver, British Columbia
West Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Troll's Horseshoe Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Troll's Horseshoe Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.