We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jambo Grill & Paan House

Jambo Grill & Paan House
3219 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5R 5K3, Canada (Formerly Jambo Grill & Good Morning Paan) (Renfrew)
604-433-5060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #220 of 2,802 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Neighborhood: Renfrew
Description: Welcome to Jambo Grill. "Jambo” is Swahili, East African word, meaning hello. “Paan” is a betal leaf wraped with sweets & nuts. The dishes at Jambo Grill are Khoja style cooking, which is quite different from other Indian style dishes. Khoja’s, followers of the Ismaili Branch of Shia sect of Islam, our forefathers in India, were converted to Islam by the Dais from Iran. Thus, there is a strong Persian & Gujarati influence evident in our cooking. The Tandoor, a deep clay oven is one of the key elements in cooking these dishes, like Chicken Tikka, Kebabs & Naan bread whick cooks on the walls of the tandoor. Around the 1920s, the Khoja’s settled in large numbers in East Africa before immigrating to Canada in the 1970s. Certain African style dishes such as Cassava & Tilapia Fish are influences from that continent. Also cooking on the Grill (Sigdi) was very common in East Africa. Dishes like Mishkaki & Kuku Choma are prepared in this manner. At Jambo Grill we present you with the tastes of four continents, Iran, India, Africa, & Canada which we now call home. Our ingredients, tastes, & style of cooking are influenced by each of these unique places.Our Symbol Shaped like a betal leaf & the flame of a tandoor oven, on top of our naan bread, with paan leafs falling into a jar of sweet syrup.Voted Vancouver's Best East African and Indian Cuisine & Restaurant in Vancouver.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Amazing food - Indian and African fusion; the food is spicy; if you're not used to spice you might need a towel, but it's the kind of spicy that keeps you eating. Lots to choose from, and the atmosphere is quite unique as well as upbeat. Can be noisy at times, but the fun factor keeps it from becoming annoying. Service and food quality always top notch - be sure t check out the Lollipop Shrimp; so tasty.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food. Good service. I promise you, if you come here you won't be disappointed. The food is so good. You'll want to order one of everything on the menus.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dinner with friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have been here several times and normally go for the served buffet dinner (Thursday's only) that comes with starters, selection of vegetarian and meat dishes and a nice dessert. The food is good and caters for westerners in terms of spiciness - but adequate for east Indians also. I went with a friend and the place was pretty busy, we got our table within about 10 mins. After that the service went down hill - which is unfortunate as normally the servers are attentive and courteous. We had to ask throughout the night to be served, whether it was more water or meal or naans. Quite honestly it ruined the evening. What makes it worse, was that the servers continued hovering around two other tables while we and other tables were being totally ignored. PLEASE treat us all the same way and get your staff trained and organised - otherwise you will lose a lot of loyal customers. Will be giving the restaurant a miss for a while and hope this is a one off. if you have the patience then try the food but be prepared for crappy service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome homecook family affair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have never been to this restaurant before. What an experience!!! The food came out hot, fast and absolutely delicious.
The service was wonderful and attentive. The server explained everything to us (since we are new to the cuisine).

Overall a lovely experience and will definitely return with more people.

Ray

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to visit when in Vancouver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Always look forward to coming back here time and time again in my stay's in Vancouver.
Having a meal from home reminds of family cooking.
Service can be a bit off depending on staffing and how busy they are but overall, the food makes up for it.

Had my Jungle Ribs and Nylon Bajia and couldn't finish as the meal sizes are filling.
A gem in the wall restaurant, this place is a must for all and everyone.

Looking forward to visiting back here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jambo Grill & Paan House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Burnaby, British Columbia
 

Been to Jambo Grill & Paan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jambo Grill & Paan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.