We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Cheap and Filling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Burrito

Red Burrito
1700 Commercial Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-707-0877
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,749 of 3,035 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quick Cheap and Filling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Yummy Mexican fast food style. Very generous servings. Tasty, fresh salsa elevates the tacos. Fast and friendly service, can get very busy. A good choice for kids.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    13
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Cheap Eats!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Great cheap fresh eats! 3 tacos for 7.5 cant be beat. We got 3 tacos(2 chicken 1 pork) plus chips and a soda for 11 dollars!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Smells better than it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Kind of a let down after the great smell coming from the place. The flavor was a bit lacking.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Hit the Spot but Nothing to Hurry Back For”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

my teenage son loves burritos so he ordered the beef fajita burrito stuffed with rice, cooked onions, dark shredded beef, sour cream, tomatoes, cilantro, and hot sauce all for $6.35. the fajita has no beans so if you like bean, you will have to order the "red burrito". the taste of the beef was not very good at all but it did fill him up.

i on the other hand had the tortilla soup for $3 ....it is like a broth, fairly salty and lemony which i liked. in it she put onions, cilantro, cheese, sour cream, and tortilla chips. i did not taste any chcken at all.

the restaurant is licensed so it's cheap to grab a beer and some nachos. we had the mexican drink with cinnamon for $2 which was quite delightful.

the cashier mischarged us initially...the bill should be $10.37 but he insisted it was $18.67 because that is what the till showed. he had no concept of mental math that one burrito at $6.35 and a soup at $3.00 cannot add up to over $18! when i complained, he had another girl come over and fix the problem.

restaurant only accepts debit and cash so leave your credit card at home.

all in all, it hit the spot but it isn't a place where i will hurry back for a second time.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretend Mexican Food -- Never Again.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

It "looked" like Mexican food but it was not. The major taste/spice -- chili. Heat is nice but where was the FLAVOR? Everything was just blandly hot. And there was CUCUMBER in the pico de gallo. CUCUMBER! Black beans. Instant rice. All the good stuff (cheese, guacamole) costs extra.

As a person of Mexican-American descent who was so hungry he got suckered into eating here, I can safely say I will never do so again. Adios.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Burrito also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Red Burrito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Burrito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.