We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Applause, Japanese Restaurant

Applause, Japanese Restaurant
8269 Oak St, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-263-8968
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #842 of 2,817 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Pemberton, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and the service at applause
Surprised only because the outside decor says ok but the quality inside is extremely good
And great value for money

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband chose this spot . I have never eaten Japanese before . It was good . Loved the dumplings . Then helped my spouse with his box . I was surprised I liked it .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Loved it! Great staff! I enjoyed the sushi and noodles. My friends and I will be visiting you again. Thank you for the great service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charming, Authentic, Great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Applause is a real gem nestled in Marpole. We visited because we live in the area and we were pleasantly surprised. The place has a great cozy atmosphere, and the service was fantastic. The sushi was very good and reasonably priced, as was the yakisoba. Deep fried ice cream for dessert is a must! We will definitely be back again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Prices, Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Located near 67th and Oak is this great little gem of a Japanese restaurant. Open for lunch and dinner, it offters great bento box a variety of rolls and small Japanese dishes and tasty grilled saba and black cod. We've had company functions here and the service is great..

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applause, Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Applause, Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Applause, Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.