We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breka Bakery and Cafe

Breka Bakery and Cafe
6533 Fraser Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-325-6612
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 77 Bakeries in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch
Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just like Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

What a warm and friendly atmosphere when you walk into this place!! Homemade baking just like Mom's!! So good and fresh always!! Located 1/4 block off Robson - open 24 hours! Very busy most of the time!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    34
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
carlisle
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent bakery, free wifi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

We saw this place on our last day and wish we'd spotted it sooner! Delicious pastries, panninis and soups all reasonably priced. The bread was delicious! Nice cafe ambiance. Mixed crowd of students and families

Only concern was that with free wifi some customers seemed to be sitting for ages on laptops drinking water ( free) and taking up tables that could be used for fee paying customers. Didn't seem to bother the staff though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Gotta stop here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

When you walk by this bakery it's hard not to stop and have a look inside. Was busy so you know it’s good. Large selection of both salty and sweet pastries. Some I've never seen before. We took some back to our hotel. Was very, very good. Would go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great cafe in a cozy neighbourhood with 24 access”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

It's safe to say I do love this place, I usually do some research on the places I eat but this time I decided to just be random and I'm very glad I did. Right when you walk in breka bakery you feel right at home, there is a sensual environment for what ever you are into. The bakery is great for socializing, relaxing, reading or studying and the free Internet makes it all the better.

This place has to get big points for being open 24/7, you don't see very many local bakery's if any at all with that type of availability, and if I was a local you would find me here every morning!

Now lets get to the food, don't let the name fool you. Besides the baked goods breka has a wide variety of specialty foods and drinks. If the 24 hour access doesn't get you or the cozy atmosphere the food will keep you coming back for more and more.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic pastry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Had a berry strudel and had the perfect balance. The pastry was best I've ever had. The filling was just right and together made for the most delicious strudel.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breka Bakery and Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Breka Bakery and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breka Bakery and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.