We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively and different bar / restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chill Winston

Chill Winston
3 Alexander Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 1B2, Canada
604 288 9575
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #438 of 2,844 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, Bar, Café, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
gail2803
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lively and different bar / restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

It was a Friday night and we forgot to make a reservation anywhere so having wondered around Gas Town and looked over a few restaurant menus we opted for Chill Winston as we liked the idea of being able to chose different sized plates (we had a late lunch so didn't have huge appetites). We waited a little over 5 minutes for our table which was close enough to the atmosphere of a very busy Friday night bar but between other diners so still felt separate enough. The menu was laid out into sections detailing the size of the plate so at least you knew what to expect and I thought this was a good idea. As I ordered a fairly small plate of the delicious crab cakes I opted for the truffle selection for a dessert which was also a great idea as I did not feel over-whelmed. The menu was inventive and very well presented.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    70
    32
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornelius, North Carolina
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Coffee desert and people watch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Nice location to take a coffee desert break. Chocolate truffles and great coffee for me. Central to GasTown with relaxing patio was nice.
Menu option were creative but I didn't try anything other than deserts . Friendly staff and service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“FUNKY RESTAURANT WITH GREAT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We discovered Chill Winston in the delightful Gas Town district and were lured by the wonderful menu. Chill Winston is in a beautiful old brick building right across from the statue of "Gassy Jack". It was quite dim inside and the tables were high and flanked by stools in some sections then in others there were intimate lounge areas with comfortable couches and chairs. The entire front of the restaurant can be opened up and there is also outside dining. One part of the internal brick wall had a section of bricks painted a lighter colour and the movie "Casablanca" was being projected onto the wall - a wonderful idea and extremely effective. Not only was the atmosphere great but the food was exceptional as well. We had bison which was rich and succulent served with bone marrow and caramelised onions and a delicious salad with strawberries and confit duck - it sounds rather extraordinary but worked beautifully and the confit duck was top notch! Dessert was not to be missed either being both creative and delicious. Our meal at Chill Winston was one of the best we had on our trip and we thoroughly recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Interesting drinks, but expensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I enjoyed the decor and ambiance of Chill Winston. The service is good, but not particularly fast. The server was quite knowledgeable about the drinks and was able to give some recommendations. The drinks were expensive, but quite different and tasty. Tried a pizza, which was alright, nothing spectacular. Overall, it was a nice experience, and I would return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best places I have ever been.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The bartender knew his stuff the food was quite good, I usually sat at the bar and enjoyed my time chatting up the bartender, it might be one of the best restaurants in Vancouver.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chill Winston also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Chill Winston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chill Winston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.