We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi. Service a bit lacking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akira Sushi

Akira Sushi
1069 Denman Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
Improve this listing
Ranked #964 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Neighborhood: Downtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great sushi. Service a bit lacking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The food here is great. Sushi was awesome and fresh. The service was great only when they came around which wasn't very often. But a great place and nice atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great sushi in a small no frills place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Went here and enjoyed it. We ordered the chicken teriyaki and a bunch of different rolls to share. The rolls were delicious! It's a pretty small place so some people had to wait in line but its worth it. Ill be going back again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This place is very small and the decor is not a priority for the owners. It has a diner kind of feel, even though the tables are spread out in the room. However, the food is fantastic, the service excellent and the cost extremely reasonable!! We ordered a variety of vegetable sushi and it was excellent. We paid cash - total cost was $20 for two people! Wow!
If you would like a quick, delicious meal with good service, visit this restaurant in west Vancouver!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dynamite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The dynamite roll that Akira sushi makes is superb. The fish is always fresh and you can order black rice on the sushi which creates a wonderful nutty texture.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Debit machine will not accept charge without tip for take out.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I think the review says it all. I went here for take out. I used my credit card to pay. I attempted to finalize the charge without a tip and the machine would not accept the charge. I then informed the server and received an entitled "no tip?" In response. Entitled rude service. You are not entitled to a tip for take out. Never again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akira Sushi also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Akira Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akira Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.