We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place for drinking, not for eating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charlatan

The Charlatan
1447 Commercial Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-253-2777
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,337 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Centred in the heart of Commercial Drive, The Charlatan offers true west coast comfort food, 15 unique draught lines, and an easy sipping cocktail and wine list. The newly renovated interior offers a warm, comfortable atmosphere- perfect for relaxing and letting loose, while our 80 seat patio gives a full view of the diversity of Commercial drive. Prefer to lounge? The Den has a private bar, hidden big screen and spacious seating- it is the perfect location for your next party!
Shannon, Clare, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice place for drinking, not for eating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

if you want to chill and relax and have a beer, this is as good as any. if you want a meal, then leave the kids at home. no kids menu and all they could do was a grilled chicken breast with herbs on it. we had no idea of this until it came, try presenting that to a seven year old with a straight face!!! the coup de grace was when after the meal we wanted to watch the hockey and we were pestered to pay up even though we were going nowhere. the waitress protested that she was finishing as 9.30pm and it was obvious that she wanted the tip. i did not want multiple bills but she insisted. i was not sure who was inconveniencing who. i paid to avoid complications. went there a couple of nights later with the brother and no hassles. your one was not working.......

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I come here often. Great atmosphere, great people to mingle with, great food. The staff is very friendly, but unfortunately in the past 6 months or so service has gone down hill. Often I end up with an empty drink and have to sit and wait a long time to be asked for another one, sometimes I just end up going up or stopping someone to ask for my bill and just go elsewhere. I keep going back because of the location (a lot of friends live in this area) and the atmosphere. I am hoping the service gets better again (it used to be great!).

Aside from that, the outside patio is great in the summer to relax on and have dinner and/or a drink with friends. It's also a great place to watch the game inside sitting at the bar by yourself or with friends all year round.

The food tastes great. Menu includes typical pub food (burgers, wings, yam fries...), pasta dishes, steak, meatloaf, chicken pot pie. There is a brunch menu, regular menu, and a late night menu.

They do have specials. Appies range from $6.95 to $14.95. Burgers range from $12.95 to $14.95. Main dishes range from $12.95 to $17.95.

The Charlatan Restaurant
1447 Commercial Drive
Vancouver, BC

Tel: (604) 253-2777

Hours of Operation
Monday 4:00pm to 1:00am
Tuesday 4:00pm to 1:00am
Wednesdays 4:00pm to 1:00am
Thursdays 4:00pm to 1:00am
Fridays 12:00pm to 2:00am
Saturday 11:00am to 2:00am, brunch until 3pm
Sundays 11:00am to 12:00am, brunch until 3pm

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Food- can't comment never got any after an hour and fifteen minutes. How difficult is it to prepare eggs, We didn't see one plate come out. "Kitchen is busy".....hardly! Absolutely disconcerned staff. Shame on them. Asked the waitress "How are you today?" Answer "Well I am here." The hostess was more concerned about how she looked to the point she just had to try a customer's hat too see how cute she looked.
Too bad one can't rate them lower than five. Negative ten and that is rating them high.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Catch a game & a beer (or seven!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Lots of beers, great menu, always a game of some kind on the many screens. Fab for brunch at he weekend

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Order off the Special sheet and you wont be disappointed. Make sure if there is a game on you get there early other wise you have no chance for a table.
Great service and Great food.
Love it,

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Charlatan also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Charlatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charlatan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.