We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small cafe, friendly owner, very good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Addis Cafe

Addis Cafe
2017 Commercial Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-254-1929
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #419 of 3,029 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lovely small cafe, friendly owner, very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This a lovely small cafe on Commercial Drive (btw 4th & 5th Av) run by a friendly owner. Lovely atmosphere. Good service. Quite inexpensive. Some of the best Ethiopian food in town. Awaze Tibs comes with beef, lamb, goat, or chicken sautéed with Ethiopian red pepper sauce, onions, and green peppers. The original veggie combo is presented as a palette of generous-sized dollops of stewed spinach, fasolia (beans and potatoes with garlic, onion, and ginger), yellow split peas, cabbage, and lentils. Both are served on the spongy and slightly sour flatbread, injera, the staple of Ethiopian meals that serves as both plate and eating utensil, which soaks up the Awaze spices of hot peppers, cardamon, and clove.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“BEST RESTAURANT IN VANCOUVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Addis Cafe is amazing. The food is incredible with lots of variety, including vegetarian and vegan options. The owners are wonderful people too.
What else can I say, the food is just so gosh darn good. By far, the BEST restaurant in Vancouver.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely service; excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Had a fantastic Ethiopian meal here! The owner is very charming and loves to answer questions about his cuisine and culture. It was a very filling meal and excellent value at $23 for two (without beverages).

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Always delicious and tasty soul food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I've been eating at Addis Cafe for over 10 years and the one reason I keep coming back is that the food is amazingly delicious. The service is very personal and friendly.
We eat at addis cafe at least once a week and I never tire of this delicious food. I crave it. The spices are directly from Ethiopia and all the food is made in the little kitchen at the back of the restaurant. The owners Mesfin and Azib are incredibly friendly and caring. They are the only operators in the restaurant.
I cannot say enough good things about the food and owners. I'm really grateful to have found such a nook.
Thanks Mesfin and Azib!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!! A must try, especially if you have never tried Ethiopian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We had never had Ethiopian food before and a friend that lives in Vancouver took us here. We ordered a mixture of chicken, beef and lamb, you can choose if you want it to all come together and share the african way or have it dished up seperately. We shared and it was a lovely experience. I had never tried injera (ethiopian bread), it's spongy in texture and absorbs all the curry sauce, I am drooling just thinking about it. The service is friendly and on the table they have cards that explain how to eat Ethiopian food and the customs that should be followed. This is the best meal we had in Vancouver and we were there for over a week. I feel this is a must, if you go for lamb, have the lamb wot.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addis Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Addis Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addis Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.