We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Oysters than you can imagine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodney's Oyster House

Rodney's Oyster House
405-1228 Hamilton Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 6L2, Canada (Downtown)
604-609-0080
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 2,803 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“More Oysters than you can imagine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We arrived on a Saturday night without booking but the friendly staff found us a place a the counter which was fascinating as we saw all the chowders and the moules being prepared.We also saw the oysters being shucked ,15 different types,!!.I had delicious scallops each in a filigree potato coating which were delicious as were the desserts.The wine list was also excellent

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    193
    100
    20
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The freshest fish in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great ambience, with knowledgeable servers wearing rude t-shirts. The food is great and there's lots of good choices in the drinks department. As the name implies their specialty is fresh oysters, but there's plenty of other seafood to choose from.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Really excellent fried oysters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is just to say that I had some seriously excellent fried oysters at Rodney's today; the best I have ever had. Not little skinny bits that come out of the freezer and into the fryer, but plump, fresh oysters, fried up and served. The oysters on the half shell were good, too. My fellow diners were not as enthusiastic about their crab cakes; said they were dry, not wonderful. But the fried oysters were great.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

the oyster were didderent sizes, and had all types of sauces to add to them. the drinks were great and the chowder was made in heaven thanks to the staff we were able to make good choices great night

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended Rodney's while on holiday in Vancouver, and it completely lived up to the recommendation. Great food, with a massive selection of oysters and spicy sauces, really helpful service, and friendly, laid back atmosphere. We'd definitely go again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rodney's Oyster House also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Rodney's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodney's Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.