We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Lettuce Indian Style Chinese Restaurant

Green Lettuce Indian Style Chinese Restaurant
1949 Kingsway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5N 2T1, Canada
604 876-9883
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #367 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Indian, Asian fusion
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A new favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place was recommended to me and I'm glad I went. Street parking, nice simple, clean decor. Good service. Prompt and friendly. The food great.

Started with an appy which came first which was nice. Too often in a Chinese restaurant it comes at the same time as all the other food.

Started with a chicken dumpling which was delicious. I could hardly wait for everythign else.

Next we had the ginger beef, tangerine chicken and the Singapore chop suey and a small bowl of steamed rice.

All of the food was very tasty and just the right amount of spice. I like it a little on the hot side but not so hot that it burns. This was perfect. You could really taste all of the different flavours.

The portions were plentiful.

We had plenty to take home and have for supper the next night.

All of the above and the bill was $40.00

Will definetly be back. Good value for money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    19
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not Indian Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The food was mediocre at best. The people were nice, the service was fine. Flavor and hot spice was absent from the food, even though it is touted as "spicy". Would not return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always perfectly Green Lettuce!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have been dining at Green Lettuce for about a decade, and I have had the good fortune of introducing friends and family to this eclectic restaurant. While eateries in more trendy parts of the city build up popularity quickly, Green Lettuce, being on the East Side of Vancouver hasn't made it as a trendy hot spot. The decor is nothing to phone your favourite interior designer about, and the service, used to be better when Peter (one of the owners) was on the floor. He is charismatic, remembers names, and moved from English to a Hindi/Punjabi mix and then effortlessly slips into Cantonese/Mandarin. The extra little touches of a chatty owner aren't as visible with Peter in chef mode, but the food is always piping hot, and delicious. A gentle warning, if you aren't 'into' spicy food, this isn't the place for you! It's got kick. Even the most neutral dishes, have a bit of kick. Now that we have a 2 year old, I am far more cognizant of the spice factor. Being of Indian ancestry, I can handle the spice but I had to stick with less spicy dishes while pregnant, and breast feeding as it did impact our little one. A dear friend who really likes Indian food and Chinese food was intrigued with this fusion, but she wasn't able to enjoy it as the calmest dishes were too much for her. The Manchurian Chow Mejn with gobi pakoray are super yummy! We always order the Manchurian tofu, while my carnivore partner is really into chilli chicken and masala prawns. Egg and vegetable fried rice make a nice accompaniment and is kid friendly (when you tell them not to spice it). This is one of my favourite places to eat in East Van, and I hope they continue with their loyal following of regular customers (a super good sign of their awesomeness!!!). Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Chinese & Indian Fusion Cuisine at its Best...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I hadn't been here in about 18 months, but decided to come for take-out. The place was packed on a Friday... The food is a fantastic amalgam of Chinese dishes, but cooked with the complexity of indian spices.
Lucinda and Peter are wonderful owner/operators. Even after all these years, they still remember my wife is allergic to onions and hates cilantro.
The portions are generous and cooked to perfection. Needless to say, they tailor the food to personal preferences.
My favourites are the Masala Chicken Fried Rice, Spicy Green Beans, Hot & Spicy Squid and the Green Lettuce Spicy Chicken.
The restaurant is in a non-descript part of town, but if you like flavourful asian food, this is the place for you.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Typical Vancouver Mediocrity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I hadn't been to this place for a couple of years and it doesn't seem much different. The spicy dishes that are low on noodles are fine, but the bland, noodle-related ones are totally forgettable (at best.) We had a "cheap" Chilean red with this and I would recommend that over tea if you can afford it. Don't really think that I'd go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Lettuce Indian Style Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Surrey, British Columbia
 

Been to Green Lettuce Indian Style Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Lettuce Indian Style Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.