We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny little gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ajisai Sushi Bar

Ajisai Sushi Bar
2081 West 42nd Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6M 2B4, Canada
604-266-1428
Improve this listing
Ranked #236 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
Restaurant details
vancouver
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tiny little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Love love love the sushi! Tastes so fresh! If you're pressed for time during lunch don't bother, there's always a line up. I usually call ahead to preorder and take out on my break. It's a hidden gem in kerrisdale. Must try!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the BEST in Van”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

one of the best sushi bars in Vancouver if not Canada. ive been going there since it opened 14 years ago. For 14 years they have not changed their quality and niche. Simply sushi at its best

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
“Excellent sashimi & sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

It is one of the best in town. I highly recommend this place. It worths to wait for seats having excellent Japanese food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

There are a lot of sushi restaurants in Vancouver, but soon enough you tire of eating average sushi and you yearn for something better. Ajisai is that something better.

Their fish is incredibly fresh, and something so simple as sushi (there are no Crazy Rolls with sauces galore here) is elevated to something more than just food. I think this is what sushi should be, fresh simple ingredients doing the talking without added distractions like sauces or bizarre ingredient combinations.

Arrive early though if you're planning to eat in the restaurant!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Precious little sushi bar hidden in a small shopping centre off 41st street in Kerrisdale in West Vancouver. Lots of Japanese/Canadians. I'm not a sushi specialist, it's too expensive where we come from (the Netherlands), but this was delicious.
Overwhelming menu -of course- so we tried our luck and it worked out well. The sashimi melted on the tongue, the 'home special inside out roll' a surprising combination of tastes and we'll try to replicate the miso with clams at home! Pleasant waitresses and the total bill not bad at all.
If I lived closer, I would come here every week!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ajisai Sushi Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Ajisai Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ajisai Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.