We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite fast tummy fill place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Congee Noodle House

Congee Noodle House
141 E Broadway, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 1W1, Canada (Mt. Pleasant)
604-879-8221
Improve this listing
Ranked #495 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Neighborhood: Mt. Pleasant
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“My favourite fast tummy fill place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Best for its roast duck and seafood noodles. Rice dumplings are great too. All Cantonese cuisine. Just like Hong Kong Cafes.

But avoid their branch in Burnaby at Kingsway and Joyce ... stood in line for 30 minutes two weeks ago, someone came well after us, and was given a table immediately! Our last time there!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fast service great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I was kind of nervous going here because congee noodle king was HORRIBLE. But this is a way better choice! We came and it was full, but we got a table in less than three minutes! The menu is huge and has really fancy dishes, it even has ostrich meat! I got the beef brisket, and it was great! The waiters bring it very fast, and the beef is soft, big, juicy, and has most of the fat stripped off. The noodles aren't too hard, and they aren't too soft. Come here for a nice noodle/congee meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“the only place i eat chinese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

BBC is where its at for great chinese food. MMMM...I love me some good congee. And here is the best. They cleaned this place up since i was last here. The bowls and plates are all new and the servers have new uniforms.
Fish congee was so good and flavorful. My kids love the minced beef congee with the chinese donut. Its not greasy at all and fresh and fluffy with a little chew to it.
and I love the wonton noodles soup.the noodles had a springy bounce. The shrimp is so juicy in the wontons and the broth is so delish with a littel chili oil, i could of drank it up, but was too full.
Char siu is good and can't forget my gai lan( chinese broccoli) with oyster sauce and chili oil.
Everytime i've ate here its been good. And service...well wave a hand and they will come. they are very efficient in getting the food out to u.
Cash only. All the food came out to $36. Now that was the best part.
Parking in the back with some street parking.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armstrong, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very authentic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We were there on a Thursday night and it was full.. The service was a little rushed and it was definitely get in, eat and get out. We had the hot and sour soup , the wonton soup and chicken and rice. I would order the wonton soup again for sure! Cafeteria style tables and chairs, quite crowded atmosphere, probably a better place for take out than dine in unless you happen to be in a quick meal mood.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Traditional Cantonese cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

You come here for your fix. All the dishes are typical traditional fare. You will not be disappointed. They also serve king crab and fish so seem to be both quick eatery and full fledged restaurant at the same time. Parking at the back is tight. But you know why!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Congee Noodle House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Congee Noodle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congee Noodle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.