We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this restaurant. .great food and excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joey Burrard

Joey Burrard
820 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604-683-JOEY (5639)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 2,788 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Contemporary, International, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
West Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant. .great food and excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stumbled across this restaurant and so glad we did. Yam fries and edamame beans..yum! Varied menu reasonably priced. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    84
    73
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“An excellent meal...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had lunch on a Saturday at noon. The restaurant was not at all crowded, with seating available in the patio area and inside. Service was attentive. We each had the herb crush salmon, grilled medium-moist and topped with herbs atop beurre blanc and accompanied by a smattering of vegetables and a "crispy mashed potato" - a delicate mashed potato topped with a crispy pastry shell in the shape of an egg roll; the combination of textures was quite pleasing. The dish was one of the most delicious meals during our stay in Vancouver and, at $23.50 each, was quite reasonable in an otherwise expensive city.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Friendly, Comfortable, Easy, Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

this was a great pick for a solo dinner while on business and staying in the area. Had a hard time choosing, but decided on the French Dip which was very good - however I would have preferred some swiss or other white cheese on it, and they said they only had Cheddar. I ate at the bar where several other solo business travelers, and solo tourists, made for good conversation. One fellow had the rotisserie chicken on a bed on quinoa, and it looked excellent (and he said it was!). Another had the salmon salad, also a winner. They had a great area for outdoor seating, which looked lovely. I'd come back, or try one of their other locations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to meet and have a drink after work! Lots of energy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Right from the start they welcome you at Joey's Burrard and at the Bentall location too!
Great place to meet and have a drink. Great selection and can't comment on the food because I didn't eat there but all looked great. The formula is a milestones and they are there just to serve you and allow you to get to where you need to go!

Young, energetic, organized and a scene!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribble Valley, Lancashire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Contemporary restaurant serving excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Visited twice during our stay in Vancouver - yes it was that good!

Couldn't fault the food or the staff. Busy bar scene and outside seating area. Would recommend booking.

One member of our party thought the Apple Pie was the best he's ever tasted!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey Burrard also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Joey Burrard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joey Burrard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.