We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was just ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Italian Kitchen

Italian Kitchen
1037 Alberni Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V7V 3H6, Canada
(604) 687-2858
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Italian Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Burrard
Colorado
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Service was just ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This restaurant came heavily recommend by the concierge at our hotel. We found the food to be good, but the service was mediocre.

Here are some of the issues we encountered:
1. I ordered a tasting menu and the waiter consistently forgot the wine pairings. I did not receive them until I was practically finished with the course.
2. The waiter added tap water to my sparkling water.
3. The cheese girl leaned over my colleague across the table to grate cheese.
4. When I gave the hostess my reservation, she left without confirming the reservation, seating us, or asking us to wait while our table was prepared.

The minestrone was very tasty, and the overall ambiance of the restaurant was enjoyable. However, the waitstaff lacks the experience of restaurants of a similar class .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. This is not Glowbal Group's standard for service and I'm sorry we failed you on this particular occasion. If you did not have a chance to speak with the manager directly, we would be happy to follow up to ensure this issue is addressed and does not happen again. Please email your contact info to marketing@glowbalgroup.com. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    213
    79
    41
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wouldn't go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

too loud, ordinary food, no special attention to details, too expensive for what you get. Vancouver has lots better to offer.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi there. Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. We would like to follow up with you directly and invite you back to enjoy the full Italian Kitchen experience. Please send us your contact details to marketing@glowbalgroup.com. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed everything about our experience at Italian Kitchen. We made a reservation and were given top notch service from the minute we walked in the door. Service was very professional, friendly and efficient. Our server offered good suggestions when we were being indecisive. Food was very good - great flavours, hot, good portions. Great wine list as well - something for everyone. We'll be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Great to hear! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lame and loud, epic fail.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Once settled it took 15 min. for our waiter to show up! Seeing how long it took we ordered our wine and meals together. When our salads arrived 20 min later we still had not received our wine. We told this to ( different waiter) and the manager promptly can over to apologize and told us to save room for complimentary desert.She was noticeably anoid with this waiter. The deserts were very good,unfortunately the noise and poor service will keep us from ever returning or recommending. Dinner without promp wine is an epic fail.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Public Relations Manager at Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi there. I'm sorry to hear you did not receive prompt service while dining with us. We always strive to have each and every guest leave having had a great time and we would love to have the opportunity to make it up to you. If you have further comments that you would like us to pass on to the management team, please email marketing@glowbalgroup.com and we will be sure to follow up. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great service at the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Only negative is the door opens and the room freezes in the winter and heats up in the summer

Pizza is good, pasta a little salty, veal excellent

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara A, Guest Relations Manager at Italian Kitchen, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Agreed - the bar is a great place to take in the action of the room! Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Kitchen also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.