We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and inexpensive Vietnamese food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bao Chau

Bao Chau
2717 East Hastings, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
6042516956
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 2,804 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Burnaby, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Tasty and inexpensive Vietnamese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went there for lunch and arrived around 1145AM. The place is close to the PNE, and was less than half full but was almost full when we left, eventhough there was some turnover. The restaurant was clean and bright, metal chairs throughout, and limited parking in the back lot. Looks to be a family run restaurant and the staff were friendly and quick.

I ordered the Combo A and was surprised at the size of it. It came with a chicken skewer, 2 Vietnamese rolls, shrimp roll, salad, and choice of vermicelli noodles or rice. I ended up taking the shrimp roll home. My friend ordered the chicken pho, which had plenty of chicken. Definitely good value for what we paid.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    10
    8
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Always fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Family run - a vancouver classic. Every dish it great . Atmosphere is divey, but food wonderful. Inexpensive - look out for big lines at lunch time or weekends !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsawwassen, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Value- Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

For some reason I had not eaten here even though I had tried every other local place. I finally ventured in and then came back three nights in a row. Only once did I eat in. Every other time I did take out. I will definitely be back as the price and taste were both outstanding.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“The grilled chicken and pork chop combo is SUPERB!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I make a point to visit this restaurant at least once a week (often 2-3). Had a chance to try the Pho here (leftovers from the kids) and it is solid. The springs rolls are solid, but not the best in the city. What you gotta try is the rice combo with pork chops and grilled chicken. IMHO best Vietnamese grilled chicken in the city without doubt. Nice servings grilled to succulent perfection! Paired with the homemade chilli... GOD.... Simply to die for!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good spring rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012 via mobile

Good spring rolls, pho is average rice is not bad good quick stop

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bao Chau also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Bao Chau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bao Chau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.