We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushiyama

Sushiyama
371 Broadway East, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Mt. Pleasant)
604-872-0053
Improve this listing
Ranked #426 of 2,763 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Mt. Pleasant
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just stopped in for dinner again tonight, I've eaten here numerous times when I'm in Vancouver, and this place is absolutely great. The staff are wonderful, and friendly, the sushi is top notch., and you just can't beat the prices. Everything is fresh and delicious. Don't let the outside of the place fool you, although it's not much to look at it's worth the visit when you're in the area., A definite must return the next I'm in Vancouver again

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Sushiyama is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Having used to live nearby by it was a real treat to have come back to Van and seen how they have expanded and become so successful. They deserve it!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best sushi in Vancouver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

totally, totally great sushi for unbelievable prices. Sashimi is huge and fresh and great. I have not had a bad single dish. I cannot recommend anywhere else. but by 6pm it is a line-up system for a table so you do need to book.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Average, that's about it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The sushi was ok. It was extremely cheap but extremely basic. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant as one of the finer ones, but it was ok. I prefer sushi that looks amazing and costs a little more. I probably wouldn't go back and wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Just Sushi, Sushi Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

They seem to be quite generous in terms of portion size in sashimi here and very much enjoyed the sweet bbq sauce they put on ‘sushi pizza’.
The staff are always inviting and friendly!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushiyama also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Sushiyama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushiyama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.