We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best burgers in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vera's Burger Shack

Vera's Burger Shack
Main Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3G3, Canada
(604) 709-8372
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #442 of 2,803 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Diner, Hamburgers, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best burgers in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Best place to go when you're craving a burger. The patties are juicy and satisfying, and all the things around the patty are fresh and wholesome. The staff is very friendly and efficient. Oh yeah, try the chicken fingers. I'm not much of a chicken finger person, but for some reason theirs are delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    43
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“42 bucks?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The food was good and the staff were friendly. But for two burgers, some fries, some onion rings, and two sodas the bill was 42 bucks. Really? For burgers? We didn't realize all the upselling at the cashier was going to cost us so much more. We should have opted for the cheaper drinks and no fries or cancelled the onion rings, or simply gone to the MacDonald's across the street and spent half the amount. So at the end of the day they squeezed more money out of us and they can pat themselves on the back. But the consequence for Vera burgers is that we will not being going back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best veggie burger in town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Second visit to Vera's and I have now perfected the ingredients. Veggie burger, with cheese, mushrooms and fried jalapenos. This is a magnificent burger.

Only downside is the cold metal chairs on a cold night made it a cold place to be.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A proper burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

A burger does not have to be a processed, mass produced, flavourless hit of grease. It can be a thing of real flavour and satisfaction. Vera's burgers thankfully are nothing like the flavourless efforts churned out by the Golden Arches - these are proper burgers.

During our stay in Vancouver we went twice (once in Gastown and once on Davie) on both occasions the burgers were great. The fries crispy and flavoursome. The onion rings large and containing proper onion. The shakes thick and creamy. What more can you ask for.

The Gastown venue is a bit more polished than the one on Davie but don't be out off, both are great. If you have a taste for the hot stuff have some bottle caps. Deep fried jalapeño pepper slices in a light batter. Not a substitute for fries but a great dish to share (between four of you).

Recommend the bacon and cheese burger with The Works but between the seven of us we had a real cross section of the entire menu. No one was disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Middle of the road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We were tired and hungry and looking for a good burger. This place came recommended from a nearby store owner. The burgers were ok ( a bit small), fries were not my fav, as I like fresh cut fries. The beer was decent, Grenville Lager.
Would I go back? Probably not. I'll try something new.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vera's Burger Shack also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Vera's Burger Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vera's Burger Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.