We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best veggie burger in town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vera's Burger Shack

Vera's Burger Shack
Main Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V5T 3G3, Canada (South Main)
(604) 709-8372
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #816 of 3,310 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: South Main
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best veggie burger in town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Second visit to Vera's and I have now perfected the ingredients. Veggie burger, with cheese, mushrooms and fried jalapenos. This is a magnificent burger.

Only downside is the cold metal chairs on a cold night made it a cold place to be.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank altun13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A proper burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

A burger does not have to be a processed, mass produced, flavourless hit of grease. It can be a thing of real flavour and satisfaction. Vera's burgers thankfully are nothing like the flavourless efforts churned out by the Golden Arches - these are proper burgers.

During our stay in Vancouver we went twice (once in Gastown and once on Davie) on both occasions the burgers were great. The fries crispy and flavoursome. The onion rings large and containing proper onion. The shakes thick and creamy. What more can you ask for.

The Gastown venue is a bit more polished than the one on Davie but don't be out off, both are great. If you have a taste for the hot stuff have some bottle caps. Deep fried jalapeño pepper slices in a light batter. Not a substitute for fries but a great dish to share (between four of you).

Recommend the bacon and cheese burger with The Works but between the seven of us we had a real cross section of the entire menu. No one was disappointed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tagfcuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Middle of the road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We were tired and hungry and looking for a good burger. This place came recommended from a nearby store owner. The burgers were ok ( a bit small), fries were not my fav, as I like fresh cut fries. The beer was decent, Grenville Lager.
Would I go back? Probably not. I'll try something new.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fitchic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Was recommended to eat here and I was very happy. The burgers are large and very tasty. The staff were very friendly and I would eat here again in a second!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xtine_and_ghostrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best fast food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

“You can’t beat Vera’s meat! “ It is actually true (if we are only talking about fast foods). The burgers are delicious, the service is fast and they totally make it worth your money; the burgers size is big and the beef yummy!! You don’t pay much more than you usually would at McDonald’s or other crappy places and you actually have quality in your sandwich! I encourage everybody to support them by picking Vera over other low quality establishments every time you feel like getting fast food!
Big bonus: the staffs are friendly and efficient unlike other places!
Strongly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThomasBdlA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vera's Burger Shack also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Vera's Burger Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing