We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice idea” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Foundation

The Foundation
2301 Main St, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Mt. Pleasant)
604-708-0881
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #752 of 2,817 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Healthy, Fusion, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Mt. Pleasant
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“nice idea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Went to Foundation and was quite excited as I have heard a lot about it. Being a Vegetarian it is nice to just be able to look at the menu and just order away. The Burger I had was ok but somehow I expected it to be better. Water and wine gets surved in jam jars, might be nice for water but not so much for the wine. The atmosphere is quite nice as it sets you back into the 60's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
2 reviews
“Food was good - would go again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was surprised because the location is great, but when inside, it kind of felt like a little hole in the wall restaurant. The food was good and there were lots of options that were interesting and I have even tried to copy at home. I tried the black beans on quinoa with a lime sauce (not even sure if they still have this anymore) but it was delicious and filling! The atmosphere was fun and funky but the service wasn't great. They don't really pay a lot of attention to the tables.

I would go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Vegetarians...this is for you!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a cute little place with a menu that is based on vegetarian dishes and actually offers a pretty good variety in this food realm.
It is a funky little place with its own unique atmosphere and clientele...fun to visit for something a little different.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Not bad, but wouldn't go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We visited The Foundation strictly for their famous Nachos that recently received rave reviews in a local paper. Well, I wouldn't exactly rave about them. In fact, I won't even go back for them a second time. Not that they were bad, just not that spectacular, nothing to write home about.
The serving size for two peple was decent enough, as was the price. The problem was the fact that they were overcooked and consequently very dry. There was hardly any cheese, therefore they were not ooey-gooey as Nachos should be. There were no jalapenos that we could find yet they were spicey just the same. We figured out that they most likely used a liquid spice, adding it during the building process. The plate was smothered in black beans, which is not necessarily a bad thing but they were probably there to disguise the fact of very little cheese...beans are a cheaper fill. The worst part of the dish was the freezing cold salsa. It would have been great salsa, loaded with corn, but it was so cold you could hardly touch the little metal dish it was served in. There was an extra charge for the guacamole so we declined.
The dried up chips and cold salsa coupled with the fact that the restaurant itself was absolutely freezing (we ate with coats and scarves on) did not make for an enjoyable experience.
So, if you go, wear something extra warm and ask them to heat up the salsa. That's if you can ever get ahold of a server.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great nachos and slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I recently went here with some buddies for beers and nachos. The nachos were great, but the service when it came to getting beer refills was not. The servers are all a little slow but from what I have been told that has been expected here.

The atmosphere is cool and unique and you can actually see ovens where the food comes from.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Foundation also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Foundation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.