We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Patio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Restaurant

Havana Restaurant
1212 Commercial Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia V5L 3X4, Canada
(604) 253-9119
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #639 of 2,803 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Cuban, Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were 3 ladies and the wait for a table at lunchtime on the patio was only a few min. Our server was prompt and efficient.
We started with Mojitos - which were on special at $7 each.
We had 2 orders of Tuna Tacos - which I was reluctant to try, as the Tuna is "ceviche" style. I put on some hot sauce and they were absolutely scrumptious! You get 2 large tacos on your plate. I was only going to eat 1 & box the other. But enjoyed it so much, forgot about the box and ate the second one too.
The other person had the Salmon Salad which had a large thick broiled piece of salmon on top of mixed lettuce. I tasted it and the dressing was perfect.
The music is fun, Cuban Salsa-style and not too loud.
It was a perfect day as the weather was sunny and 25c. Who could ask for more?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    23
    37
    21
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Worst service ever.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

As I said...worst service ever. We were seated right away, and then ignored by a couple of waitresses who avoided eye contact, as well as our pleas for some attention.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“First time really enjoyed our experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We were staying at a hotel over by English Bay visiting our son in Vancouver. When we decided to go out for dinner, our son wanted us to try Havanas, I would have preferred going to a restaurant closer to our hotel. He finally convinced us to try Havana's. What a surprise. It was great, such a neat place. The service was excellent, the food was great! I had the Paella it was so good! I loved it. My son had the roasted chicken wrapped with Bacon and crab, he said it was great. My wife had the crab tacos with we're amazing. So glad we tried this place out. Looking forward to going back. Would highly recommend this place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good location, good food, helpful staff and (surprisingly to some) kid friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Havanas is always busy and doubly so in the good weather, prepare to put your name down for a table and wait If you can swing an outside table then you can enjoy the sun and people watching while eating some very decent food.

Turtle Bean Chili and Rice, Ropa Veija, Cuban Sandwich and the Drive burger are all very good. Beer selection is good. Jerk Chicken Wrap a favorite as is Beer Battered Grilled Cheese.

The help here is very friendly and they make families (even those families with melting down & hyper active kids) welcome and do their best to accommodate children's tastes.

Have been here several times and not had a bad experience.

PS - parking is a pain in the @ss around the drive, so take a bus or bike there if you can.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Hoppin' place with a great vibe and good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were told that Havana was one of the most popular restaurants on funky Commercial Drive and that we would probably have to wait in line for a table. We went really early (5:45ish) and were able to get seated right away -- but this place was packed and never let up for the next 90 minutes. It's not that big of a place; as others have noted, there is probably as much sidewalk/outside seating as there is indoor seating. Outdoor seating is on a raised platform off the sidewalk with overhead heaters. Don't hesitate to sit indoors, though. There are huge windows and the sunlight streams straight through into the dining room.
The wait staff and service was really very good, considering how busy they were, very friendly and attentive. We ordered an "original" mojito, a local beer and and order of salsa, guacamole and house made tortilla chips as a starter -- and all are good bets! These are not typical tortilla chips -- much thicker -- more like a pita chip. We were told they are well -known for their truffle fries (which we'll try on our next visit.) Our beet salad, Cuban sandwich and coleslaw were all winners as well. Overall, a fun atmosphere, excellent service and really tasty food...what's not to like? Our only criticism is the tiny tables they seat two people at; luckily we had a wall on one side of us, otherwise they pack you in pretty tight. We'd definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Havana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.