We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was excellent, Service could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Porto Ristorante

Al Porto Ristorante
321 Water St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1B8, Canada (Downtown)
604-683-8376
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Al Porto Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #346 of 2,809 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Cambie
Transit: Just steps away from the Waterfront station.
Description: Gastown's popular Water Street is alive with the taste of another era. Meander down the cobbled sidewalk and stumble across a true find, the uniquely situated Al Porto Ristorante. Spacious yet cozy, the room is as distinct as the cuisine that defines the rich flavour and culture of Italy. Candlelight and a warm welcome await you as you cross through the iron-gate.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Food was excellent, Service could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I had arrived tried the Early Bird Special on a Sunday night and enjoyed our meals very much. I had the Cioppino and it was really good and so much that I could not finish it, My wife ordered the Linguine Pescatore and enjoyed it very much. The salad was also very good.
My thought about the service stemmed from my beer order. The waiter brought the wrong beer. I thought it was ok so I ordered a second bottle. This time the waiter brought a bottle of the first beer I ordered. I guess my thought was he was not paying too much attention.
I would still come back and will come back because of the food and the value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    72
    18
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Just yards from one of the busiest downtown streets in Vancouver, we found this delightful restaurant where we enjoyed delicious pizza and salad. I would definitely recommend it. Less pricey and pretentious than others in this area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Early Bird Special a Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

If you have dinner before 6:30 and take advantage of the special you will save big and enjoy the same good food. Halibut in season is excellent, and cioppino is quite tasty. The waiters seem to be honest in their recommendations and proud to work there. The wines are reasonably priced. Good value, good service, good food and beautiful ambience. what more could you ask for?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great value, excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

On the edge of Gastown, expected to be expensive but wanted to eat early and found they did dinner deal 4:30 to 6:30pm with starter and main for Can$24. Turned out this included bread and olives as well, no hidden extras, clearly well used by locals and not surprising. Food delicious and service just right.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We found this restaurant tucked away on a side street in Gastown. The signboards and menus directed us to a side entrance, which took us downstairs, so I expected a dark, dingy restaurant. It opened up to a large, bright room with beautifully set tables and friendly staff. The service was fast and efficient and the food was excellent, although the portions were a bit on the small side. Still, it was nice leaving feeling "just right" rather than "stuffed to the brim". We arrived early as we had an event to go to, so were able to take advantage of their Early Bird Special - soup or salad and a main course for $24, or a main course for $18 (prices for mains were in the mid-20s otherwise). This offer is good from 4:30-6:30. I had the lamb which came with butternut squash, beans cooked just right, half a tomato dusted with parmesan cheese and baked, and roasted potatoes (there was a $3 surcharge for the lamb). My husband had the veal with prosciutto which he said was quite salty, but otherwise tasty. Bottom line: We'd go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Porto Ristorante also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Al Porto Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Porto Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.