We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Great value, awesome service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Porto Ristorante

Al Porto Ristorante
321 Water St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1B8, Canada (Downtown)
604-683-8376
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Al Porto Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #279 of 2,820 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Cambie
Transit: Just steps away from the Waterfront station.
Description: Gastown's popular Water Street is alive with the taste of another era. Meander down the cobbled sidewalk and stumble across a true find, the uniquely situated Al Porto Ristorante. Spacious yet cozy, the room is as distinct as the cuisine that defines the rich flavour and culture of Italy. Candlelight and a warm welcome await you as you cross through the iron-gate.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing! Great value, awesome service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Wow, what a fantastic meal we had at Al Porto. Our server was awesome and our tapas and meal excellent as well. The value is incredible here and certainly worth visiting. Very cozy little spot with an excellent wine list and very reasonable pricing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    75
    21
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Came to this Gastown treat before concert. Service and food as good as I had heard, even better. Early dinner special before 6:30 made this the perfect pre "Babs" show.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Wandered in on a Sunday night when they were about to close. They stayed open for us and the service and food was great! The fish was fresh and tender, the pasta just right - al dente, and the vegetables tender crisp. Price was pretty decent for the quality of service and food. I will definitely come back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful decor, good food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stumbled on Al Porto and it was a real find. Pizza was delicious, crispy from the wood-fired oven, pasta was slightly bland, but with a little red pepper was transformed. Nice wine selection, Caesar salad was a work of art. And it offered a view of the mountains across the harbor. Definitely would return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were there visiting the area recently and this was our first dining experience in Vancouver. The service was absolutely horrible. The server was unfriendly and unaccommodating. At one point my husband had to get up and get the water pitcher and refill his glass himself. To tell the truth I'm not sure how the food was because we were so turned off by the service we recieved there. Fortunately, there are many other fantastic restaurants to go to in Vancouver with great service so frankly don't waste your time going to this one.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Porto Ristorante also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Al Porto Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Porto Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.