We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILL OUR FAVOURITE VANCOUVER RESTAURANT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Restaurant + Bar

West Restaurant + Bar
2881 Granville St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3J4, Canada (Fairview)
604-738-8938
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
West Restaurant + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #78 of 2,780 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Dessert, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fairview
Cross street: 13th St.
Sidney, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“STILL OUR FAVOURITE VANCOUVER RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A lunch time post wedding celebration and birthday with family was made even more special by the great service. A wonderful light Italian champagne was suggested by our waiter, a silver vase appeared to hold the nosegay of flowers for the guest, timely presentation of courses, happy birthday wishes written in icing on the desert plate and we were out the door at exactly the time that we had requested. It's the attention to these little details that makes THIS place a cut above. The food,of coursel, was also over the top... delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    45
    25
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service, a fine dining treat if a bit loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This is one Vancouver's finest dining restaurants.
The service was impeccable!
The food fantastic!
Wine selection is great, but be sure to ask if its their last bottle if you're planning on more than one ;)
Take your time, enjoy multiple courses, if you're spending the money for truly fine dining do it right. Expect to pay $150-200 per person with wine for sure. It's worth it :)
No valet, but there is a drop off zone right out front and just behind the CIBC kitty corner to the Restaraunt is a pay lot $7.50 for the night.

It's marble floors and hard ceiling so a bit loud, nicest to sit up front by the window.

Enjoy, we did!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
2 reviews
“Best duck ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The service was great, the wine was great, our food was great, but the duck was the best duck ever. And I appreciated the efforts they made for my gluten intolerance. They did a good job!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“West is best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Vancouver seafood restaurants are always solid. We ate at West and sat up at the sushi bar. What a treat watch the pros go to work. The sushi was fantastic especially the lobster sushi what a treat then they make lobster miso soup. Wow here comes the rolls and great Japanese beer to wash it down. Heaven I say I'll be back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Vancouver Delight!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My son and I were recently in Vancouver for a few nights and were looking for a local restaurant that offered an array of local delicacies. We were very pleased we chose West as the food (local fresh halibut and local Frazier Valley duck) was truly outstanding and the presentation awesome.
Did I mention the thousands of wines to choose from? The service was great as the waiter was helpful in pairing the wine and going over the specials. Everyone we met went out of there way to ensure a remarkable birthday dinner for my son and I. Hope to go back soon for more great food,wine, and service!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Restaurant + Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to West Restaurant + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Restaurant + Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.