We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family birthday celebration for 8.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West Restaurant + Bar

West Restaurant + Bar
2881 Granville St., Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3J4, Canada (Fairview)
604-738-8938
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
West Restaurant + Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 2,789 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $45
Cuisines: Dessert, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Fairview
Cross street: 13th St.
Seabeck
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family birthday celebration for 8.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Prix fixe dinners were wonderful-wine pairings were had by some. Ala carte also available. If you are a "foodie" and like to watch kitchen action...ask for one of the 2 booths (that seat 4) adjacent to the kitchen serving area. I only wished that they had had a round table for 8 as it was difficult to join and hear conversations at the ends of the rectangular table.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    138
    39
    23
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“ALWAYS MEETS OUR EXPECTATIONS.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

When we travel to Vancouver we like to visit our favourite places time and time again. The West Restaurant has never disappointed us. This visit was the first time for a luncheon; the quality of service and menu selection every bit as good as the dinner hour. I can hardly wait to return to have the gnocchi! Probably one of the best pasta dishes I have ever ordered.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food, smaller portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A group of 10 of us went there for dinner recently. Five course meal. All courses were, truthfully, of exceptional quality and flavour. My only complaint was the portion size on the main - sablefish (mmmmm!) was tiny - an inch, by an inch, by about 2.5 inches. The previous courses, all small, and bread (small buns) had fairly filled me but I still expected a little more than I got of this excellent fish. Service was VERY good - attentive, prompt, efficient. No idea on cost - someone else paid.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Perfection, Grace and Inventive Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Vancouver is a city of great restaurants, but West sits at the top of my list of favorites. I have enjoyed close to a dozen dinners here and find it stands up to the best restaurants of Paris, Sydney and New York. As with any great restaurant, the room and the staff make up a very large part of the dining experience, and West is superior in both respects. A dazzling, wonderful room and a remarkably knowledgeable, gracious and even entertaining staff. The food is world class and never formulaic. There is always some inventive twist and the flavors are subtle, complex and nuanced. My college roommate from years ago joined me and thought it was one of the best restaurant experiences of his life. I will return many times.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dine Out - Amazing Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Came here for Dine Out and had an amazing meal! Recommendations were excellent as was the service. Will be back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Restaurant + Bar also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to West Restaurant + Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Restaurant + Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.