We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot ... with nice view across the water” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse Kitsilano

Boathouse Kitsilano
1305 Arbutus Street | (off Cornwall), Vancouver, British Columbia V6J 5N2, Canada (Kitsilano)
604-738-5487
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Boathouse Kitsilano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #612 of 2,866 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $30 - $49
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Kitsilano
Cross street: Cornwall & Arbutus
Transit: The Boathouse at Kits Beach is located off Cornwall which is directly on a major bus route #22 MacDonald.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great spot ... with nice view across the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Enjoyed an early evening dinner here, at a table right by the window, with a view across English Bay, ranging from Kitsilano Beach around to snowy hills to the north. Great spot. Food was good too -- three kinds of salmon, some delicious tiger shrimps, and the best creme brûlée (with hints of lime and ginger). The only disappointment was some local wines ... not quite as good as from California.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    73
    52
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, service and amazing sunset views across English Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is one of our Vancouver favorites in terms of the combination of the food, the service, and the drop dead amazing views across English Bay (particularly at sunset).

We find now with two little toddlers that this restaurant really works well since it is very family friendly, and there the beach right below (Kits beach) and great new playground right beside the restaurant.

With regards to the food, we often order the halibut (when it's in season) as they are very good at cooking halibut properly (i.e. not overcooked/dry). It's also a great place for brunch (with the eggs benedict being my favorite brunch dish).

At our last visit the service was excellent from the beginning of our meal through to the end (always attentive), and we've always had good experience with regards to the service.

The only downside of this restaurant is that it has become very popular, so it's difficult to just drop in and get a table (unless you arrive before 5pm for dinner). If the weather is looking nice, phone them to make a reservation, and prepare to enjoy the sunset with a nice bottle of wine and some great food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lively/lovely and kid-friendly too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After a pleasant baptism ceremony, family headed to the Boathouse. Parking close by was great and a lovely view of the beach from the establishment. Service was friend and food was very good (orange juice tasted different), but overall great food and great service. Clean environment and kid friendly too. May be a bit pricey but it's pretty much pricey in all beach access restaurants. I'd go again when I'm visiting Vancouver and would recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Supper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

View of the bay and water is incredible
we got to see a beautiful sunset while dining. The fish dishes are great had cod and halibut. Service was excellent

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
1 review
“Food was OK but the Environment was unbearable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My family of 8 had dinner at The Boathouse restaurant last week. The food was fine but the environment was unbearable. The sun streaked into the windows and if you were facing the windows could not see and it was incredibly hot to the point were it was uncomfortable. A few of the family ate and went outside to get some air right after dinner before coffee and the settlement of the bill. I could not wait to finish dinner and get outside for some cool air.

I find it incredible that the Boathouse doesn't have some sort of sunscreen type blinds on the windows or air conditioning that would make dinner enjoyable. I doubt we will eat at the Boathouse in future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boathouse Kitsilano also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Boathouse Kitsilano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boathouse Kitsilano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.