We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Water Street Cafe

Water Street Cafe
300 Water St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1B6, Canada (Downtown)
(604) 689-2832
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #168 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Café, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Ottawa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We picked the Water Street Cafe based on the recommendations of Trip Advisor, and we weren't disappointed. The location is central, very close to our hotel; a very nicely decorated room reminiscent of European cafes. The menu is heavily accented on Italian fare, and has a good variety of choices (although not extensive). There's something for everyone, IMHO.
We had a wonderful bottle of Sandhill Osprey Ridge Vineyard Viognier, which I heartily recommend. The crab cake appetizer was the best we've had in a couple of years. The main courses were smoked salmon risotto, the spinach risotto and the chicken -- all were nicely prepared, well presented and very tasty.
The cafe looks onto the steam clock, which is a nice bonus. All in all, a very pleasant evening!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    128
    36
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I decided to stop in for a light lunch, whilst walking through Gastown and was very glad that I did. It was pretty busy, but I was seated immediately, at a table by the window, where I could watch the people outside strolling by. There was a good selection for lunch options - soups, salads and starters. Lots of other patrons were going for a bigger meal and again, there was lots of choice. My soup and salad were delicious and just the size I needed, but watching the other meals being served, you could have lots more to fill you up, if you wanted. Everything that I saw looked delicious and the staff was friendly and attentive. I'll be back there again, soon.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, OR
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a table by the window where we could observe the pedestrian traffic and the steam clock. The menu offered many choices. I had bruschetta (to share)' a fabulous green salad with candied pecans and light balsamic dressing, and clam pasta. Each and every thing was perfectly prepared and served. My husband had the same salad and pasta with Italian sausage. His was outstand-
Ing also. The wine list was varied and reasonably priced. Service was impeccable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Usual great service & good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Never been disappointed here. And according to neighbouring tables, only good comments heard.
1 major issue, don't even look at Trip Advisor's menu prices! Everything way up. Veal stated as $18 now $23 and short ribs @ $20 now $26. The wife started with soup of the day & I had seafood chowder, both very good. Wife's veal excellent & my short ribs very good. Mashed potatoes - not very good. Grilled veggies very nicely done.Nice portions & no room for dessert.
Outdoor seating Summer only, too cool now. Excellent Gastown location for tourists. Across from Steam Clock

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Lovely seafood for an early dinner with attentive service. Good location in Gastown. Feature dishes were good value and well presented

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Water Street Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Water Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Water Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.