We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“== lovely experience ==” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vij's Restaurant

Vij's Restaurant
1480 W 11th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 1L1, Canada
(604) 736-6664
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 3,035 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
483 helpful votes 483 helpful votes
“== lovely experience ==”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had chickpea curry (OK), lamb popsicles in a curry sauce (quite good) and grilled fish (supreme).

But it was the service which I found superb; we counted at least seven different people coming to our table, all doing something useful in a most pleasant and timely way. I asked the only male waiter (this place employs mostly women) how they choreograph this. He laughed and said "we talk to each other".

We arrived at 5:45 on a Monday night to find only a few tables available. Soon people had to line up, but they were treated with the option of a drink, an appetizer, respect and a place to sit outside. ViJ knows how to treat people, staff and customers alike.

We ate and drank for about $100, which we thought reasonable for the experience. There was a pleasant din in the room, but not too loud to talk.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    167
    78
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterton In
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This man knows how to run a restaurant, food was very good and Vij knows how to work a room. He went to every table to inquire about the food and make sure everyone's needs were met.. We waited 11/2 hours to get in and we felt it was worth it. They passed around appetizers to the people waiting. On another note I felt it was overpriced and expensive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

They don't take reservations and we went even hearing that it might be a 90 minute wait. We had a seat in the bar while we waited. We invited another waiting couple to join us at our table in the bar. We had a drink and visited, they brought around snacks and it seemed no time before they called our name. I am not sure how long we waited, but it seemed like about 45 min. The staff was friendly and helpful. The owner was very welcoming and I think visited every table. The food was delicious. I think they deserve their title as best Indian food in North America. And note, the chefs and those working in the kitchen are women. Excellent job ladies! Thank you!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalapana, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Extraterrestrial Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is more experiential than just a meal. It's not fusion, its not traditional, its a taste bud explosion. I love spicy Indian food and the way in which textures, tastes and aromas are blended is unique. This is why there is always a line to get seated.

However while you are waiting there are very interesting people who also know its worth the wait and hors d'oeuvres are freely passed around the waiting area. These give you a preview of what lies ahead. I suggest come with a group so you can share many different flavors. And of course come hungry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, but popular place, so be prepared to wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great food, in a sort of updated nouvelle Indian style. Very fresh and interesting, and probably the best Indian-based food I've had.

It is very popular and, as they don't take reservations, be prepared to wait. But they do make it worth your while - there is a waiting area outside and by the bar, inside, where you can have a drink and where they bring you snacks from time to time. Service is good.

Prices are a bit on the high side, but not outrageous, and probably reasonable value for a popular / successful restaurant. It is what it is. I recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vij's Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Vij's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vij's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.