We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian food in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vij's Restaurant

Vij's Restaurant
1480 W 11th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 1L1, Canada
(604) 736-6664
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 2,895 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Got there at 5.40 pm and were told the wait maybe 2hours, it was in fact only 1and a half.
The staff come around while we waited outside having a drink, bringing nibbles to die for.
The food is amazing well worth the wait ,Vikram the owner was trained in Austria apparently, it's Indian food with a European touch .

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    158
    76
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Worth the wait, this meal was to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had the great pleasure of eating here while on business from Toronto this past Friday.
Every bite of the meal was exquisite. The service was lovely. My other two colleagues and I enjoyed the opportunity to meet Vij who is a man with a delightful calming presence.
This is definitely one of the best meals I have ever had.
The mutton kabob was really nice. The goa style prawn curry dish is in a category in itself....simply to die for. All are also beautifully presented.
I would suggest sharing.
Also, come prepared to wait. No reservations taken, and order a drink while waiting if you can. They will also come by while you wait and offer scrumptious snacks.
Mmmmm....I cannot stop talking about this meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is the best Indian food I've ever had. Not just "hot" because it is Indian, but more subtle flavourful hot that sneaks up after each bite. Wonderful service. Very busy though. Get there well ahead of the 5:30 pm seating or be prepared to wait. But the waiting is wonderful fun - small room that gets noisy with friendly conversations and samples of different foods are served while you have drinks. And please respect those waiting - we had 2 young women beside us who were finished when we sat down and only left moments before we were done. They chatted extremely loudly at their table that was mere inches from ours for almost an hour after finishing (their leftovers were on their table in a bag when we sat down).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“better late than never”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband, myself and two friends ate at Vij's last September, so this is rather a late review. We lined up at around 5.10pm and were almost the first people in line. We were all surprised that Vikram himself opened the door and showed us to our table, he is a very gracious host, and made us feel very special. We all love Indian food, two of us are from the U.K. which has some amazing Indian restaurants, but this food was well above anything we have had before. On Vikram's advise we each ordered a different meal and ate family style, the paneer on spinach was to die for. We enjoyed everything,the mix of spices is incredible and for my taste just enough heat. They also have a very good wine list. We do not visit Vancouver often, but next time we are in town a meal at Vij's is a must.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lamb popsicles, oh my”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Frequently passing tidbits to help ease the wait time as we sat in the bar area. We were told our wait was 1.5 hours but we went for a 40 minute walk and then sat in the bar for only 20 minutes before our table was ready. The service was quite good and we never felt rushed. When we asked for the recipe for the lamb popsicles they kindly brought over their recipe book and suggested we take a photo with our camera rather than spend the time to write it down. It was a bit pricey but the food was delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vij's Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Vij's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vij's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.