We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic as ususal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vij's Restaurant

Vij's Restaurant
1480 W 11th Avenue, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 1L1, Canada
(604) 736-6664
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic as ususal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you like food, eat here. It is fabulous. the service is great, the food is wonderful. Have the lamb popsicles. I don't eat anything else there.

The wine list is great and they are very good at pairing for you.

You have to queue up to get in so get there early. In fact, don't go, so that the queue is shorter for me!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    548
    156
    74
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Superb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I know why some folks think this is the best Indian food in the world. Possibly because it is. The line up outside is worth it although as a fine dining establishment, I do with they accepted reservations. The decor, the service and the food is always amazing and well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Variety and taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Excellent food, a great fusion Indian restaurant. Wonderful selection and new items introduced regularly. We have been many times and will keep going back!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

So with the wait! Exceptional food with flavors that can be savoured for ages! Outstanding service and wait staff. One of the best, if not best, Indian restaurants I have been to.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Top 5 meal of my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had one of the best meals of my life at Vij's (www.vijs.ca). They don't take reservations, so get there early and expect a wait. We arrived when they opened at 5:30 and just missed the first seating. The owner, Vikram Vij, greeted us at the door and invited us to have a seat out front, order drinks, and sample some bites as we waited. After an hour and a half, and perhaps one too many drinks, we got our table and looked over the menu. For appetizers, we decided the mutton kebabs were a must, and our waiter suggested what he called "the best" samosa- he was not over selling! The lamb "popsicles" are the house-special, so we ordered them along with Rajasthani-style goat for our entrees. There aren't enough adjectives to emphasize how amazing this meal was! In addition, Mr. Vij came over to our table several times while we were eating to make sure everything was satisfactory. I believe the food here was so incredible because the owner is so hands-on and involved in every aspect of his restaurant. When my girlfriend suggested that he open a location in New York, he replied, "A restaurant is like a woman, they need a lot of attention." It's that attention that makes Vij's what it is!
Read more at: www.thetattooedtraveler.com

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vij's Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Vij's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vij's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.