We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant

The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant
1535 Johnston Street (Granville Island), Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada (Fairview)
604.669.9030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 2,816 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Fairview
Description: The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant is located in Granville Island beside the Public Market. Their unique patio is under the Granville Street Bridge, overlooking False Creek. Enjoy sushi from Chef Hoshi’s Sushi Bar, open all week from 5:30pm onwards. From Thursday to Sunday, the Teredo Lounge transforms into a trendy piano bar. Featuring a variety of local brew, the Sandbar is an exciting place to listen to live music, enjoy fresh tapas and meet great people.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This restaurant is a wonderful place to eat. Make sure that you go to the top level/patio. It overlooks the water. There are fireplaces and outdoor heaters to keep you warm even if it's cold. They even have blankets that you can put over your shoulders or on your lap. The food is wonderful too. We had a salmon burger and a seafood pizza. Yum.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    255
    89
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited the Sandbar after a glowing recommendation by a relative. We were a bit disappointed. I had a seafood wok (the Sandbar Noodle Bowl) which tasted quite good but the squid in it was very tough and rubbery. I know that squid is tricky to cook but I have had squid that is soft and tender. Big miss there although the rest of the dish was quite good. My wife had the GI burger and she didn't care for it. She likes her food not overly spiced and she found the burger too "oniony". There was finely chopped onion inside and on top of the burger mixed in with a weird sauce that she couldn't identify. And oddly the fries were quite bad too. I write oddly because the Sandbar is owned by the same people who own Cardero's and if you see my review for that place the fries there are quite good.
We sat at the patio which is great but be prepared to walk up a couple of flights of stairs to reach it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequoia R, Customer Service Coordinator at The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for coming out to the Sandbar, and for letting us know your thoughts and feelings about your dining experience. I am sorry to hear that you were not a fan of the food dishes you tried.

Since you provided fabulously specific details in your review, we are able to use your comments constructively. Please be assured that the Chef and his kitchen team will be looking into the squid, the burger and the fries as you described.

Thanks again for taking the time to let us know, and we are sure to be even better than you expected upon a return visit!

All of the best,

Adele Holgate
Customer Service Coordinator I Sequoia Company of Restaurants
e: feedback@vancouverdine.com

SANDBAR IS:
BC Master Chef 2012
BC Chef of the Year 2013
BC Chinese Chef of the Year 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maastricht
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“awful place in vancouver”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

as a Belgian who loves seafood I was looking forward to eating in this place. after a wait of an hour we finally got a place, which shows how popular the place is. my disappointment couldn't have been greater. it's now more than a year ago but it took me a while to find the name of this place. the food was awful, tiny overpriced portions of bad seafood. on our way out we noticed dead lobsters in the lobster tank. absolutely appaling! None of us (we were 6 from all over the world) could understand why this place was so popular. we ate much better, and without facing health risks, in several other Vancouver restaurants. Definitely not recommended!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequoia R, Customer Service Coordinator at The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a shame that your feedback is dated as then we could have investigated the "dead lobsters in the tank" as we are definitely not aware of this ever being the case at the Sandbar.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit.

Sincerely,

Adele Holgate
Customer Service Coordinator I Sequoia Company of Restaurants
e: feedback@vancouverdine.com

SANDBAR IS:
BC Master Chef 2012
BC Chef of the Year 2013
BC Chinese Chef of the Year 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food, good view, good service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Everything was PERFECT! We sat just inside the doors on the mezzanine level -- out of the breeze. It is located under the bridge. The price was good (especially for on the water in Vancouver) with entrees from $12 and up. Drinks were delicious. Setting right under the bridge, but still a good water view. I wouldn't hesitate to go again! And since our hotel made our reservation for us, we got a delicious free shrimp appetizer! A very nice surprise.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great food, good location, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We at at the Sandbar with a group of 20 people in May 2013. The service was excellent and they had no trouble keeping up with such a large table. There is a lot of seafood offered - and the portion sizes are small to medium. I actually had the roasted chicken, garlic mashed potatos and veggies - also good. The location is under the bridge on Granville island - lots to look at while dining. We good the Aquabus from Hornsby St. to Granville island and that worked out well. I wished we had more time to explore the shops surrounding the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandbar Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.