We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Spaghetti Factory

Old Spaghetti Factory
53 Water Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 1A1, Canada (Downtown)
(604) 684 1288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #186 of 2,846 Restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It is what it is!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

It is on a city street, so even if you are outside, the view is not that great, And it is cheap and cheerful Italian, as North Americans define that. If you are looking for gourmet Italian, this is not your place. But, for what you are paying it is good value.
That said, the service was attentive, but not obtrusive. The food was good, if not outstanding. Portions were just about perfect. If you are looking for more than that,you are in a restaurant below the price point you should be at.
This is a chain, and, for what it is, a very good one.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    210
    79
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, atmospheric comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

No, this may not be the best food in the world, but it brings back happy childhood memories every time I eat at one. I actually love their mizithra cheese and white clam sauce toppings, so that's what I order every time I eat at a Spaghetti Factory. This one is just like all the others: pasta in a historic old building loaded with artifacts that impart atmosphere from a bygone era. For the price, you really can't beat it. Especially for the nostalgia it ignites. Bonus: on this visit we got to sit in their trolley. Sort of on a mission to eat in every trolley in every Spaghetti Factory there is. Got to check this location off my list!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Makes the Olive Garden look gourmet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Plenty of food but so completely mediocre. We waited a while for a table because this place is crazy popular, but... so no worth the wait. Awful pasta, mediocre salad, ok ice cream

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Gluten free pasta options available.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Attended with a group from work. We were seated quickly and had good service throughout the meal. Recommend the mushroom sauce with gluten free pasta, which was tasty, but needed more sauce. This was a common concern with several of the meals. The salad was fresh and tasty and the wine list had several choices.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I have been to two of these restaurants. This was my first visit to the old spaghetti factory. The staff were fantastic and the food great value. This is the only old spaghetti factory that I would visit again due to great service by the staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Spaghetti Factory also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Old Spaghetti Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Spaghetti Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.