We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific seafood in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish House In Stanley Park

The Fish House In Stanley Park
8901 Stanley Park Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
+1 604-681-7275
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fish House In Stanley Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 2,763 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $37
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood, Grill, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lagoon Dr. and the tennis courts
Transit: Davie & Denman: The 5, the 6, the C21 and the C23 Vancouver Trolley courtesy stop at Stanley Park Dr & Lagoon Dr
Description: Among the spectacular gardens of Stanley Park sits the historic Fish House restaurant. Relax and dine in our Fresh and Casual concept featuring exceptional seafood, freshly shucked oysters or indulge in our Mixed Grill. Sit back with a micro-brewed beer, a glass of wine from our award-winning wine list or enjoy a seasonal, specialized martini. For private events we have three distinct rooms, two of which feature patios opening onto the scenic natural beauty of Stanley Park. Whether it is a boutique wedding, corporate party or business meeting, the Fish House caters to your needs and wishes!As of May 2013, we are proud to announce that we are one of the few seafood restaurants in Vancouver to be 100% Ocean Wise™
NJ
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Terrific seafood in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Pretty restaurant in Stanley Park. Terrific fresh fish and seafood. Excellent wine selection and service. Had a terrific local (BC) rosé (from Pinot noir). Loved seafood trio of sockeye salmon, Arctic char and black cod.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thanks for the review, Handman! Glad we made your trip to Vancouver a delight! Safe travels and happy dining.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    243
    60
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great birthday brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a great birthday brunch, my mom and cousin had crab cakes that were delightfully light not full of fillers as crab cakes can be, (I had a taste), I had an omelette that was not too salty not too rich again just melt in your mouth. The staff were friendly and when they found out it was my birthday they gave me a free dessert.
Just a relaxing time for my parents to connect with a cousin they had not met in a long while!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks for the review, inmfs!

Happy birthday! Glad to see that your birthday was a special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was recently visiting friends in Vancouver and they suggested we went to The Fish House for dinner. It lived up to my expectations and the other reviews. The breadbasket was a great way to start, especially with the lobster oil for dipping. For an appetizer, I started with the scallop tartare and sunchoke chips. It was absolutely delicious and the chips went with the scallops perfectly. My main was the butter poached halbut and crispy polenta. Again, perfectly cooked, well seasoned and a great dish all round. To go with this, we had a couple of pitchers of local beer and a great view of Stanley Park. It is a tad on the pricey side, but the food and location are worth it. The only downside is that the parking fees in Stanley Park are getting exorbitant, but if you want to enjoy the wine or beer there, you should probably take a cab, walk or bike anyhow.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for the review, Bonasa!

Our parking lot is owned and prices are set by the City. Winter parking rates are now in effect in Stanley Park: $2/hour up to a maximum of $5/day. Our designated lot is free after 6pm. Parking isn't as expensive here as it is downtown. Happy dining!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Return visit met expectations for special event”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I visited the Fish House from out of town 3 months ago with colleagues, and brought my husband back for our 20th anniversary. As requested, they seated us promptly on the veranda with Jennifer as our server. They even printed a special "Happy Anniversary" card for us; simple gesture but rather nice. They treated us with an amuse bouche of buschetta; we then had the Dungeness crab cakes as an appetizer. They also brought bread with lobster oil (they're very proud of it, but I couldn't really find anything lobster-y about it). We shared the Seafood Platter for 2, beautifully arranged, that included brochettes of prawns and scallops, Alaskan king crab, ahi tuna, grilled salmon, and vegetables. All perfectly cooked. After all that healthy food, I figured something decadent was appropriate so I had the Sticky Toffee pudding which is really toffee topping poured on top of vanilla ice cream - very good. With two beers and a bottle of wine, our bill came to over $200, but I figured that's only $10/year for 20 years of marriage so it was worth it! A lovely September evening enjoying the greenery of Stanley Park and the seafood of the Pacific. (The only down side to our visit is that Friday can be noisy, so perhaps a week night would be quieter.)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for the return visit, Lizardgrace. Just wanted to wish you a happy 20th anniversary, and many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, New York
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood, nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you love seafood, this is a place you'll want to try. The dishes we had were fresh and flavorful, and the preparations were not the just the standard cookbook recipes you might find anywhere else, but showed a little creativity.

Yes, it is a bit expensive, so this isn't an every day kind of place, but for a special occasion it is a very good choice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for the review, Joe! Glad you enjoyed Chef Curtis' culinary creations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish House In Stanley Park also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Fish House In Stanley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish House In Stanley Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.