We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish House In Stanley Park

The Fish House In Stanley Park
8901 Stanley Park Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
604-681-7275
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Fish House In Stanley Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 2,805 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $18 - $42
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill, Oyster Bar, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lagoon Dr. and the tennis courts
Transit: Davie & Denman: The 5, the 6, the C21 and the C23 Vancouver Trolley courtesy stop at Stanley Park Dr & Lagoon Dr
Description: Among the spectacular gardens of Stanley Park sits the historic Fish House restaurant. Relax and dine in our Fresh and Casual concept featuring exceptional seafood, freshly shucked oysters or indulge in our Mixed Grill. Sit back with a micro-brewed beer, a glass of wine from our award-winning wine list or enjoy a seasonal, specialized martini. For private events we have three distinct rooms, two of which feature patios opening onto the scenic natural beauty of Stanley Park. Whether it is a boutique wedding, corporate party or business meeting, the Fish House caters to your needs and wishes!As of May 2013, we are proud to announce that we are one of the few seafood restaurants in Vancouver to be 100% Ocean Wise™
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had the most delicious brunch here on Sunday! I had the crab cakes version of eggs benedict with a Mimosa, while I watched people playing tennis in the sun! I arrived after 4 hours of walking round Stanley Park. They were friendly and welcoming and gave me a great table outside (always a mark of a good restaurant I think is how they treat people eating on their own). Will be my first stop if I ever get to come back to Vancouver.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
The Dungeness Crab Cake benedict is one of my favourites, too! Our crab cakes have always been a hit and our kitchen team wanted to make something innovative and fun. Glad you were able to enjoy it on the patio -- what a gorgeous Sunday afternoon we had! Thanks for taking the time to tell us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    338
    172
    47
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Dinner with 9 friends. Booked cellar room which was fun. We didnt have to worry about disturbing other diners. Great service despite being in the cellar. Food excellent. Recommend the platters if in a group. And what a great location. You sometimes forget how lucky your are to live here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks for the review, mdjwales! We had a fun time with your group and we're glad you were able to enjoy our private dining room in the wine cellar.

You are spot on about the Hot Platter! It's great to order in groups so everyone can have a taste of our chef's culinary creations. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I used to love this place in years past. You can't ask for a more beautiful setting. But once inside, things go downhill. At least that was our experience. The hostess led us past the two beautifully furnished rooms to the back room facing the tennis courts. We were the only guests in this large room void of any atmosphere. We started with a dozen oysters, recommended by the server, and they were fresh and delicious. At least there is nothing the kitchen can do wrong with fresh oysters. The mains were disappointing. Sablefish tasted sort of okay, but a strong fishy smell indicated lack of freshness. My halibut was below the quality of what I expected. I eat it often, prepared at home as well as in restaurants, so I know what it should taste like. This one was bland and with an unappetizing texture unlike any I had before. I asked the server if they mixed up my order and brought cod by mistake. He was shocked and said I can go check the kitchen myself to look at the halibut. In summary, neither the food nor the ambiance of our seating would motivate us to return. Disappointing experience at a steep price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, Manager at The Fish House In Stanley Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hi Gulliver07, thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience at The Fish House in Stanley Park. We're sorry to hear that our food and the atmosphere of our dining room did not meet the high quality and standards to which we strive to uphold.

Please call us directly so that we can discuss your experience in greater detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver b.c. canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had lunch at the Fish House in Stanley Park recently and really enjoyed it. It is a huge house with many outside seating areas and beautiful views of the park and tennis courts. It is an upscale restaurant but not fussy about attire like most of Vancouver's restaurants. I ordered the fish duo of the day which was sablefish(my favorite) and arctic char. Both were very tasty but the sablefish was outstanding. Like butter melting in your mouth. It was served with fresh asparagus, broccolini and roasted red pepper and roasted potatoes. I also tried their fresh squeezed lemonade which turned out to be the best I have ever had. Not too tart and not too sweet. Highly recommended! The waiter was very funny and the service overall was perfect.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Sophisticated and Relaxed Restaurant with Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I decided spur of the moment to literally hop off the Hop On Hop Off bus as we were going through Stanley Park and heading to English Bay on the recommendation of the bus driver who raved about the food! It was a beautiful spot and food was high quality and delicious. It was the best meal we had on our two day visit to Vancouver. The restaurant is bright and inviting and the staff were very welcoming, taking our coats right away and finding us a nice spot by the window overlooking the tennis courts. In front of the restaurant is a lovely stretch of lawn and the lawn bowling club with gorgeous flower beds and shrubs. The fish and chips were delicious and presented in a miniature deep fry basket - very light and tasty. I enjoyed an entrée where you picked two types of fish and I selected the halibut and char. I was surprised how delicious the char was and actually preferred to the halibut which was also top notch. We had the cheesecake for dessert which was average - I wished it was a bit higher and creamier. The blueberry topping was delicious and made with real berries. Individual cheesecake tastes certainly vary so others may find it great. The gentleman who served us was top notch, knowledgable about the food and checked on us appropriately and had a lovely manner. I highly recommend the fish house and it was a great stop on the bus tour. At the end of the meal we resumed our bus ride and luckily had the same driver who had done the loop in the time it took us to have our meal. It was a very memorable spot!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish House In Stanley Park also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia

Been to The Fish House In Stanley Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish House In Stanley Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.