We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with a sassy attitude.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elbow Room Coffee Shop

Elbow Room Coffee Shop
560 Davie St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6B 2G4, Canada (Downtown)
(604) 685-3628
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #126 of 2,714 restaurants in Vancouver
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Downtown
Squamish,BC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food with a sassy attitude.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

It's not for young children but the food was delicious and the brunch menu is really creative. The bacon avocado shrimp bennies were to die for. For great food served with a side of tongue lashing this is the place to be lol.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    49
    42
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Breakfast spot with TONS of character!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you haven't been to the Elbow Room Cafe or taken your out of town guests here, take them stat! The staff used to be super rude but they've unfortunately toned it down now. I guess some grumps must've gone here and ruined it for the rest of us...Alright.. continuing with the review... Portions are HUGE! For carnivores I recommend The Bryan over the more masculine and beefy sounding Rocky 5, trust me on this,, other than that... GET YOUR OWN DAMN COFFEE and be ready to be made fun of!! ;)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great food, service & value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Came here by recommendation & was not disappointed. The food was really good quality & there was loads of it too. Our only disappointment was that the service was too nice & we did not get told off as expected!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson BC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't bother coming here if you're stuck up or in a hurry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I love their breakfasts. There's always plenty of food and it's cooked just the way you want it. I've been coming here for years - usually for breakfast. Expect the waiters to be loud and obnoxious but they know their limits.

Only bring your kids of you are ok with them being around swearing.

Expect a great meal and if the timing is right you'll be amused and entertained.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food with "interesting" service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We visited the Elbow room for breakfast. Interesting to say the least. Read the "rules" on the front of the menu and so share is a great option as the portions are gigantic! We ordered bread with scrambled egg, mushrooms and cheese. Cannot remember the fancy name. It was delicious!

The atmosphere is good and the owner/waiter is a character! I think it is a very nice gesture to "pay a penalty" if you do not finish your meal as the money goes to feed those less fortunate!

I will recommend the Elbow room for anyone wanting good food with a different atmosphere!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elbow Room Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Elbow Room Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elbow Room Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.