We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
1795 Beach Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1Y9, Canada
604-669-2225
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #418 of 2,714 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Denman
Description: The Boathouse is a casual fine dining restaurant with a beautiful view of English Bay from every table. With three different types of experiences, from a fun filled patio, to a cozy pub, to the top floor romantic dining room, there's a room for every occasion.
Buffalo, Missouri
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Wonderful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had no reservations but got very lucky and got a window seat on the patio. The sun was just beginning to go down and we had a very good meal along with some very nice drinks as the sun set on English Bay. Service was good and all four of us enjoyed our meal. We did a bit of sharing amongst us and that helped keep the total bill down. I wouldn't hesitate to go back if I'm ever in Vancouver again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    67
    62
    43
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Really enjoyed this restaurant. We went there on Saturday night and the view from the deck is amazing -- look out to the beach and ocean and enjoyed some perfectly cooked seafood. A little on the pricey side but what else would expect from a nice place with a view like this.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wotton Under Edge
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Book ahead for The Boathouse in Vancouver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Window seats are are hard to get and the views at sunset are stunning. With very friendly staff and exceptional food this is the place to go for a good evening meal. The waitress was very chatty and accommodated some awkward requests. An excellent choice of seafood with alternatives if required. Like most restaurants in Vancouver there was a shortage on the menu of vegetables unless you like Asparagus, big peppers or Broccoli. There was a good choice of wine...many local varieties to try and appreciate.
It is best to book ahead but difficult to get window seats as regular advantage card holding customers seem to get those but all the tables seem to have a view.
One word of warning, when the sun gets low it can be uncomfortable for 50% of the table so take sun glasses or have a hat handy. There are shades that come down but this does not protect against the really bright sun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“My birthday bash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Boathouse was chosen for my birthday dinner and it never fails on food, the Halibut in Beer batter is my favourite. Service was poor on this occasion and complaints were made, the wine was not good and was hastily exchanged, but the food and our own party meant I had a wonderful night.
The Death by chocolate cake my daughter in law got for me was truly to die for!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Alberta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not impressive!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Whenever we have visited Vancouver in the past, we have made a point of eating at the Boathouse on English Bay. The location is excellent and the meals were very good. However, this time our experience was disappointing. Our waiter was annoying. He spent too much time talking and not enough time listening. This led to his not ordering one of the meals we wanted. So, we sent it back, which meant our other meal was cold by the time the correct meal arrived. In general, both meals were overdone. Our desserts were fine,however. Certainly, the quality of our meals did not impress us particularly when you consider the cost of the entrees. The location, as usual, is excellent. When we visit Vancouver in the future we probably will not go back to the Boathouse.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Richmond, British Columbia
West Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.