We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and amazing views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
1795 Beach Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1Y9, Canada
604-669-2225
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Boathouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #453 of 2,807 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Denman
Description: The Boathouse is a casual fine dining restaurant with a beautiful view of English Bay from every table. With three different types of experiences, from a fun filled patio, to a cozy pub, to the top floor romantic dining room, there's a room for every occasion.
Regina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Really enjoyed this restaurant. We went there on Saturday night and the view from the deck is amazing -- look out to the beach and ocean and enjoyed some perfectly cooked seafood. A little on the pricey side but what else would expect from a nice place with a view like this.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    89
    55
    31
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wotton Under Edge
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Book ahead for The Boathouse in Vancouver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Window seats are are hard to get and the views at sunset are stunning. With very friendly staff and exceptional food this is the place to go for a good evening meal. The waitress was very chatty and accommodated some awkward requests. An excellent choice of seafood with alternatives if required. Like most restaurants in Vancouver there was a shortage on the menu of vegetables unless you like Asparagus, big peppers or Broccoli. There was a good choice of wine...many local varieties to try and appreciate.
It is best to book ahead but difficult to get window seats as regular advantage card holding customers seem to get those but all the tables seem to have a view.
One word of warning, when the sun gets low it can be uncomfortable for 50% of the table so take sun glasses or have a hat handy. There are shades that come down but this does not protect against the really bright sun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria, Spain
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“My birthday bash”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The Boathouse was chosen for my birthday dinner and it never fails on food, the Halibut in Beer batter is my favourite. Service was poor on this occasion and complaints were made, the wine was not good and was hastily exchanged, but the food and our own party meant I had a wonderful night.
The Death by chocolate cake my daughter in law got for me was truly to die for!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Alberta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not impressive!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Whenever we have visited Vancouver in the past, we have made a point of eating at the Boathouse on English Bay. The location is excellent and the meals were very good. However, this time our experience was disappointing. Our waiter was annoying. He spent too much time talking and not enough time listening. This led to his not ordering one of the meals we wanted. So, we sent it back, which meant our other meal was cold by the time the correct meal arrived. In general, both meals were overdone. Our desserts were fine,however. Certainly, the quality of our meals did not impress us particularly when you consider the cost of the entrees. The location, as usual, is excellent. When we visit Vancouver in the future we probably will not go back to the Boathouse.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We booked a few weeks in advance for a party of five for a mothers day brunch having heard good things about the Boathouse in particular its fish dishes. We arrived on time but were kept waiting around 25 minutes for a table and were then shown to a table which appeared to have been added by the window in the corner and right in front of and blocking the fire exit door, probably a breach of regulations. The staff were quite courteous but we hadn't realized that being mothers day and a sunday only a buffet was available at a cost of $40 a head ,we had thought we would have a choice from the menu which had quite a number of dishes we would have liked. We were not told it was buffet only when we booked .The buffet was very disappointing for the price , there was a variety but not great quality and very lacking in fish dishes .Apart from chocolate dipped strawberries the dessert was poor and for $40 would expect much better. One of our party ordered from the menu which apparently was available in the pub area downstairs since she was intolerant to most of the choices on the buffet. She had to wait for around an 40 minutes for her meal and it was rather cool and looked very unappealing when it arrived .

Overall very poor food and although some excuse could be given for it being mothers day and very busy that should not impact on the quality or reason to inflate the price.Would not visit again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.