We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty basic and uninspired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stonegrill - CLOSED

Stonegrill
1661 Granville, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604.637.0388
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Beach Avenue
bc canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Pretty basic and uninspired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The idea is fun- cook your own meal bit by bit at your table on a superhot stone tablet. The location is lovely- lots of glass looking out onto False Creek marinas. it is adjacent to the seawall, so easy to walk/cycle there, plus they have free parking if you drive.

So what's the problem? In simple terms, the food is basic and uninspired.

I went with a friend for a late lunch. The place was nearly empty, and with a skeleton staff. We were seated by a window and attended to quite well. Both of us chose Ahi (tuna), which came uncooked on the grill, sitting on lemon wedges to slow down the cooking. The trick is to slice off a piece, sear it on the grill then dip in the one teriyaki type sauce. Steamed vegetables and potato chunks rounded out the meal.

Sounds nice, and the ahi was fine, but why not a variety of dipping sauces? Why steamed veg. with no condiments or any treatment at all. Plain, plain potatoes. Butter, salt pepper. Dessert was similarly ok, but not great. I had a mousse which was rock hard. Lunch for two with a glass of wine and bottle of beer- close to $80 plus tip. Pretty stiff for lunch sized portions.

This was too bad, because with a bit of flair, the meal would have been much better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An unique dining experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I were looking for the water taxi to Granville island. We stumbled across the restaurant. The menu drew us in and the dining experience hooked us. The food was presented to us on a cooking rock and we "cooked" our meal. The food was first class and the view added the finishing touches.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Arhus, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An experience that everyone should have!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I travelled around B.C for 4 weeks and tried many different places to eat, but this place I would consider one of the best - if not the best of them all! We had a great place at the window with a beautiful view of the harbor. The food was delicious and the experience was really good. You get a hot stone on a special plate with your meat, potatoes and vegetables on and then you can make it just as you want it and the food does not get cold. It was amazing and our waitress was very polite and did a very good job.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Nice menu and good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stopped here to grab a quick bite to eat to start our day. My husband wanted breakfast and I ended up with a vegan sandwich. . nice that the Stonegrill could accommodate! Very friendly service and a nice menu. My vegan sandwich was delicious, even to my husband who hasn't acquired the "vegan" tastes yet. Very nice meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This a a very unique dining experience. It is similar to fondue, but the meat takes seconds to cook and is more enjoyable. The service was excellent; a rare find in today's world. We were greeted at the door by a very professional hostess; the waiter was very refined, the food excellent, prices reasonable, and overall a wonderful dining experience. The food runners actually know where to place the food! I can think of a few restaurant chains that could learn a thing or two from this place. Finally, be sure and ask for a window seat; great views of False Creek.
I have been to Stonegrill before and will be going there again for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonegrill also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonegrill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.