We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonegrill

Stonegrill
1661 Granville, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada (Downtown)
604.637.0388
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,194 of 2,799 restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Beach Avenue
Vancovuer, BC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great View!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was the second time i have eaten here. It has been a couple of years since i have been here but thats my fault.

As i remembered the food and service was great, as well as the atmostphere and view.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

46% Recommend
    8
    11
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome food but bad service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Went to this restaurant last week for our parent's anniversary, The food was really good and the price was decent. I ordered petite fillet which was really soft and added $13 to get the soup, dessert and tea. However, the hostess that was helping us had no smile on her face. She looked like as she is mad at the world. When she was pouring wine for us, she had her feet crossed standing and leaned back as if she was at home. We had to asked her a few times to add more water to our glass. I was really disappointed at her service that night, The food was really good though. I would come back another time just for the food and hope she wouldn't be our hostess again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great view with an added twist!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We took friends to this restaurant. It’s got a great view over the river. There is plenty of room and it’s lovely and chilled. The staff were friendly and did not rush us. Lots of great sea food and steaks to choose from which you can cook yourself on a hot stone. Food was good quality, and while more expensive than some places I feel good value.

Also just as a note, this is on the Downtown side of Granville right under the bridge ( our friends taxi took them to the wrong side originally).

Nice experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Novelty with a View”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We took guests from Ottawa to the Stonegrill. It was more for the entertainment value and waterfront view that allowed us to reconnect over a long dinner with friends. The server was most pleasant and informed.
It was unfortunate that 1-2 menu items that I ordered were unavailable. As our food was served and sizzled on the hot granite stones we enjoyed the portobello mushrooms, and mussels for an appetizer. Our guests ordered steak and salmon. Not sure how they would rate their experience.
The food was tasty, but the fish I ordered was very fatty and spattered throughout my whole meal from cooking till the time I finished. Good thing I had a linen napkin to protect my clothing.
Twice in 16 years will do for a long time. Our pocket book doesn't support the bill.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Only one set of cutlery?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

One set of cutlery,not a safe way to eat especially dealing with raw food.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonegrill also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia

Been to Stonegrill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonegrill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.